Fair Labor Standards Act


 The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is a federal law regulated by the United States Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division. The FLSA affects employees in the private sector and in Federal, State, and local governments, and covers five major areas:

  • Employee Status
  • Child Labor
  • Minimum Wage
  • Overtime Pay
  • Record Keeping

Positions may be classified as FLSA nonexempt or FLSA exempt based on salary level, salary basis, and job duties.  The FLSA status of a position is determined by Human Resources Classification and Compensation and Position Management.

FLSA nonexempt employees are eligible for overtime compensation and are required to complete bi-weekly time sheets.  FLSA Subject employees whose regular work schedule is forty hours per week may be eligible for overtime compensation in the form of compensatory time off at time and a half for all hours worked in excess of forty hours. 

FLSA exempt employees are ineligible for overtime pay. FLSA exempt employees (both SHRA and EHRA) are not entitled to hour for hour compensatory time for hours worked in excess of forty weekly.