Interdisciplinary Studies

The Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies (BIS) program is designed for a set of diverse students who bring to the university many academic, personal, and work-related experiences. They may choose the BIS program because (1) they are aware that they are more employable in many occupations with the degree, (2) that learning in the arts and sciences and in a field of specialization leads to understanding and empowerment, and (3) they review their personal plans and recognize that they can effectively meet their most important goals for a bachelor's degree through the BIS.

The BIS program serves adult students, in particular, who seek a broad, more flexible degree program to help them to advance or become more established in their careers or to improve their understanding of the world around them.

Members of the BIS Advisory Council:

Ms. Christine Bell, Lecturer and Director of MBA Program, School of Business
Phone: 910.521.6836
Email: christine.bell@uncp.edu
Office: Business Administration, Room 109

Dr. Lisa Mitchell, Professor and Associate Dean, School of Education
Phone: 910.775.4009
Email: lisa.mitchell@uncp.edu
Office: Education Center, Room 319

Dr. Richard Gay, Interim Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Phone: 910.521.6439
Email: richard.gay@uncp.edu
Office: Hickory Hall

Dr. Miguel Nino, Director, Online Learning
Phone: 910.521.6352
Email: miguel.nino@uncp.edu
Office: Dogwood Building

Ms. Lois Williams, Associate Vice Chancellor, Enrollment
Phone: 910.522.5800
Email: lois.williams@uncp.edu
Office: Lumbee Hall 210

Dr. Joong-Lyul Lee, Assistant Professor, Math and Computer Science
Phone: 910.521.6256
Email: joonglyul.lee@uncp.edu
Office: Oxendine, Room 1228

Ms. Keondra Mitchell, Executive in Residence for Student Success, School of Business
Phone: 910.522.5713
Email: keondra.mitchell@uncp.edu
Office: Business Administration, Room 118

Dr. Emily Neff-Sharum, Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Political Science and Public Administration
Phone: 910.775.4409
Email: emily.neffsharum@uncp.edu
Office: Oxendine Science Building, Room 1309

Dr. Barry O'Brien, Dean and Professor, School of Business
Phone: 910.522.5707
Email: michael.obrien@uncp.edu
Office: Business Administration, Room 101