Interdisciplinary Studies

The Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies (BIS) program is designed for a set of diverse students who bring to the university many academic, personal, and work-related experiences. They may choose the BIS program because (1) they are aware that they are more employable in many occupations with the degree, (2) that learning in the arts and sciences and in a field of specialization leads to understanding and empowerment, and (3) they review their personal plans and recognize that they can effectively meet their most important goals for a bachelor's degree through the BIS.

The BIS program serves adult students, in particular, who seek a broad, more flexible degree program to help them to advance or become more established in their careers or to improve their understanding of the world around them.

Members of the BIS Advisory Council are:

Ms. Christine Bell, Executive-in-Residence for Internships, School of Business
Phone: 910.521.6836
Email: christine.bell@uncp.edu@uncp.edu
Office: Business Administration, Room 109

Dr. Alfred Bryant, Professor, Department of Educational Leadership & Counseling
Phone: 910.775.4009
Email: alfred.bryant@uncp.edu
Office: Education Center, Room 109

Dr. Jeff Frederick, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, Professor
Phone: 910.521.6439
Email: jeff.frederick@uncp.edu
Office: Hickory Hall

Dr. Joy Fuqua, Director of Distance Education
Phone: 910.521.6352
Email: joy.fuqua@uncp.edu
Office: Dogwood Building

Jessica Godsey, JD, Lecturer, Criminal Justice
Phone: 910.521.6574
Email: jessica.godsey@uncp.edu
Office: Sampson, Room 209

Dr. Joong-Lyul Lee, Assistant Professor of Math and Computer Science
Phone: 910.521.6256
Email: joonglyul.lee@uncp.edu
Office: Oxendine, Room 1228

Dr. Edwin "Cliff" Mensah, Associate Professor of Economics
Phone: 910.522.5713
Email: edwin.mensah@uncp.edu
Office: Business Administration, Room 121

Dr. Emily Neff-Sharum, Chair, Department of Political Science and Public Administration and Associate Professor
Phone: 910.775.4409
Email: emily.neffsharum@uncp.edu
Office: Oxendine Science Building, Room 1309

Dr. Barry O'Brien, Dean, School of Business, Professor
Phone: 910.522.5707
Email: michael.obrien@uncp.edu
Office: Business Administration, Room 101

Dr. James W. Robinson, Associate Professor, Sociology and Criminal Justice
Phone: 910.522.5785
Email: james.robinson@uncp.edu
Office: Sampson Hall 216