Brave Scholars Program

Application is now open, the deadline to apply is January 27, 2023.

Graduation photo

In partnership with Columbus County Schools, Public Schools of Robeson County, and Scotland County Schools, the School of Education is excited to introduce the Brave Scholars program.

The Brave Scholars program seeks to provide financial and professional support to future elementary and special education educators who make a commitment to serve in one of our three partner districts following graduation.


  • Tuition and Fees
  • Health Insurance
  • Meal Plan
  • Professional Development (In-state, out of state, international opportunities)
  • Dedicated faculty support
  • Housing supplement
  • Living and Learning Community

Steering Committee

Cassie Cartrette Columbus County Schools
LaToya Green Columbus County Schools
Jadell Hawks Public Schools of Robeson County
Melissa Thompson Public Schools of Robeson County
Michael Riles Scotland County Schools
Karen Chavis

Scotland County Schools 

UNCP Project Team 

Loury Floyd Principal Investigator 
Gretchen Robinson Co-PI
Leslie Locklear Co-PI
Lisa Mitchell Co-PI



For more information on the program and to stay up to date with our deadlines, please join our mailing list!