UNCP announces 2020 Faculty Award recipients

Ryan Anderson
Dr. Ryan Anderson

UNC Pembroke has announced faculty recipients of the university’s top awards for achievements in teaching, scholarship and service for the 2019-2020 academic year.

“The candidates this year truly embody the UNCP motto of ‘changing lives through education’ as professors are using new and innovative techniques to reach out to and connect with students in every discipline across our campus,” said Dr. Renee Lamphere, Faculty Awards Committee chair.

“All nominees should be commended for the work they are putting into their teaching, we really had some impressive portfolios to go through and deciding the winners was not an easy task. I speak for the entire committee when I give a heartfelt congratulations to all winners and nominees this year.”

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the awards committee was forced to forgo a formal ceremony. A reception may be scheduled at a later date.

This year’s Outstanding Teaching Award recipients are:

  • Dr. Ryan Anderson, Department of History;
  • Dr. Jamie Mize, Department of History;
  • Dr. Shilpa Regan; Department of Psychology;
  • Dr. Laura Staal, Department of Educational Specialties; and
  • Dr. Misty Stone, Department of Nursing

The Outstanding Part-Time Teaching Award recipient is:

  • Courtney Walters, Department of Counseling

The Dial Award for Scholarship/Creative Work recipient is:

  • Dr. Charles Beem, Department of History

The Dial Award for Community Service recipient is:

  • Dr. Jonathan Ricks, Department of Counseling 

Outstanding Teaching Award winners demonstrate enthusiasm and commitment to professional growth, are effective through clear course materials and presentations, varied instructional strategies and suitable measures of student learning, while displaying skill in engaging student interest, challenging students and eliciting high levels of student achievement.

The Dial Awards were named for the late Adolph L. Dial, a long-time faculty member who retired in 1988 after 30 years of service to the university. These awards were established to recognize and honor outstanding faculty members who have distinguished themselves in the areas of scholarship/creative work and community service.