About Us


The Esther G. Maynor Honors College at the University of North Carolina at Pembroke is designed to attract top student scholars by providing an atmosphere that is both academically and personally stimulating. The Honors College offers interdisciplinary seminars and discipline-specific honors courses taught by distinguished faculty members; these courses enhance the general education curriculum, facilitate academic and personal growth, and encourage the interdisciplinary exploration of ideas. Honors students also gain a sense of community through shared residential facilities as well as cultural and service-learning programs. The MHC helps students become independent, successful thinkers, researchers, and communicators while simultaneously preparing them to be responsible members of a global society.

1979:  Pembroke State University Honors Program was established by Chancellor Paul Givens. 

1982:  Name changed to The Chancellor’s Scholars Program.  

2001: Established as a college of the university. Dr. Carolyn Thomas was the founding dean of the University Honors College. 

2005-2011: Dean Jesse Peters developed the college’s curriculum and established the living learning community in Oak Hall. 

2006: Esther G. Maynor bequeathed a 1.2 million dollar endowment to the University Honors College. Endowment funds support the Esther G. Maynor Endowed Scholarship and the Esther G. Maynor Study Abroad Scholarship, as well as student events and undergraduate research. 

2009: Name changed to Esther G. Maynor Honors College in her memory.  

2011-2012: Dr. Steven Bourquin served as interim dean. 

2012-2019: Dean Mark Milewicz increased the size of the college, more than doubling enrollment during his tenure. 

2020: Dr. Teagan Decker named dean of the college. 

2021: Renovation of Hickory Hall, with dedicated Honors College seminar room, student work spaces, kitchenette, and lounge.