UNCP Students at BraveNation Powwow

American Indian Heritage Center

In August 2020, The University of North Carolina at Pembroke was awarded a $1.5 million dollar grant from the U.S. Department of Education's Native American Serving Non-Tribal Institution Program. The five-year grant was awarded to build upon the university's ability to serve low-income and American Indian students. The grant proposed the creation of an American Indian Heritage Center (AIHC) to centralize programming for American Indian students at UNCP. The AIHC will provide cultural, social and academic program for American Indian students as well as educational programming for non-Native faculty, staff, and students. 

Congratulations to the Inaugural Spirit of Old Main Scholars!

Congratulations to the following incoming Braves for receiving the Spirit of Old Main Scholarship. 

Recipients are selected for the scholarship based on their academic achievements, involvement with Indigenous communities and an interview with members of the scholarship committee. It covers the student's unmet financial needs after applying for other scholarships.

In addition, each recipient will receive a $2,000 stipend to assist with the purchase of books, a laptop or other educational supplies. The award is renewable for four years if the student maintains a 3.0 cumulative grade point average.

Check out the press release, here

Sydney Brooks - Spirit of Old Main Scholar
Sydney Brooks

Purnell Swett High School (Lumbee)

Faith Jacobs - 22-23 Spirit of Old Main Scholar
Faith Jacobs

East Columbus High School (Waccamaw Siouan)

Rakyah Jacobs - 22-23 Spirit of Old Main Scholar
Rakyah Jacobs

East Columbus High School (Waccamaw Siouan)

Asa Locklear - 22-23 Spirit of Old Main Scholar
Asa Locklear

Purnell Swett High School (Lumbee)

Congratulations to the 2022 American Indian Students of the Year!

Congratulations to the following students for being awarded the 2022 American Indian Student of the Year award at the American Indian Graduation Ceremony:

Chenoa Chavis

Zachary Young

Kaitlyn Deal-Mitchell

2022 Students of the Year Winners - Chenoa Chavis, Zachary Young, Kaitlyn Deal-Mitchell