January 24, 2023, at 3:30 p.m.

Location:

Mitu Ashraf's Virtual Room

https://uncp.webex.com/meet/ashraf

Committee Charge: "The Committee on Faculty Governance shall review and interpret the Faculty Constitution, the By-laws of the Faculty Senate, and rules of order for the conduct of Senate business. Changes in any of these areas that are approved by this committee are brought, by the Committee Chair, directly to the Senate for its action."

Members (name order as it appears on the Senate Webpage):

Mitu Ashraf, Former Senator and Chair (SBS, 2021-2024); David Young, Former Senator and Secretary (ARTS, 2021-2024); Aaron Vandermeer, Former Senator (ARTS, 2022-2025); Mabel Rivera, Unrestricted (EDUC, 2022-2025); Robin Snead, Unrestricted (LETT, 2022-2025); Sherry Edwards, Former Senator (CHS, 2021-2024); Ottis Murray, Former Senator (SBS, 2020-2023); Gary Anderson, Unrestricted (SBS, 2020-2023); Carla Rokes, Unrestricted (ARTS, 2020-2023)

Agenda

- I. Call to Order
- II. No minutes for the November 22, 2022, minutes due to lack of quorum. Approval of the Minutes of October 25, 2022, meeting (Appendix A)
- III. Approval of the Agenda
- IV. Chair Report
- V. Unfinished Business
 - a. None
- VI. New Business
 - a. Examine the terms of the Faculty Development and Welfare Subcommittee members. (Terms of the current members. See Appendix B)
- VII. For the Good of the Order
- VIII. Announcements
- IX. Adjournment

Appendix A

Faculty Governance Committee

Unapproved Meeting Minutes Tuesday, October 25, 2022 Mitu Ashraf's Virtual Room https://uncp.webex.com/meet/ashraf

Committee Charge: The Committee on Faculty Governance shall review and interpret the Faculty Constitution, the By-laws of the Faculty Senate, and rules of order for the conduct of Senate business. Changes in any of these areas that are approved by this committee are brought, by the Committee Chair, directly to the Senate for its action."

Members present: Mitu Ashraf, Former Senator and Chair; David Young, Former Senator and Secretary; Aaron Vandermeer, Former Senator; Mabel Rivera, Unrestricted; Robin Snead, Unrestricted; Sherry Edwards, Former Senator; Ottis Murray, Former Senator; Gary Anderson, Unrestricted; Carla Rokes, Unrestricted

Members absent: None

Also attending were: Not applicable

Recording Secretary: David Young

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the Faculty Governance Committee Chair @ 3:30 p.m.

II. Approval of Minutes of September 27, 2022 (Appendix A)

The minutes of the September 27, 2022 Faculty Governance Committee were approved.

III. Approval of Agenda

The agenda for the October 25, 2022, Faculty Governance Committee meeting was approved without additions or corrections.

IV. Report from the Chair

The Chair updated on the following.

- A. Sent the changes in the charge of the Oversight of the Faculty Handbook Committee
- B. Sent the request to FERS regarding promotion procedure from the rank of Lecturer to Senior Lecturer.

V. Unfinished Business

A. Rewording the proposal for Faculty Senate Chair and Faculty Senate Chair protem qualifications (Appendix B)

After careful discussion, the Faculty Governance Committee looked at the Faculty Handbook section dealing with Faculty Senate Chair qualifications and adds the following added wording recommendation:

The Faculty Governance Committee recommends adding the following to the Faculty Senate Chair qualifications:

"The Faculty Senate Chair must hold tenure."

After careful discussion, the Faculty Governance Committee looked at the Faculty Handbook section dealing with the qualifications of the Faculty Senate Chair Pro Tempore and adds the following added wording recommendation:

The Faculty Governance Committee recommends adding the following to the Faculty Senate Chair Pro Tempore qualifications:

"The Faculty Senate Chair Pro-Tempore must hold tenure."

VI. New Business

None

IX. For the Good of the Order

Some Faculty Governance Committee members are checking out qualifications (for example, if tenured faculty status required) at other UNC system schools and will report back their findings to the Faculty Governance Committee Chair as soon as possible.

X. Announcements

The next meeting will be held on Webex at 3:30 p.m. on November 22, 2022

XI. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:32 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by:

David W. Young

Recording Secretary
Faculty Governance Committee

Appendix B

Review of the Terms of the Faculty Development and Welfare Subcommittee

Current members and their terms are as follows.

- Dennis Edgell, Chair (NSM, 2022-2024)
- Christopher Woolley, Secretary (LETT, 2022-2024)
- Namyeon Lee (ARTS, 2022-2024)
- Sandra Plata-Potter (EDUC, 2022-2024)
- Bishwa Koirala (SBS, 2022-2024)
- Keara Ndhlovu (CHS, 2021-2023)