

AGENDA

January 20, 2022 12:00-1:00 PM WebEx

1. Call to Order

2. Roll Call by Chair

Present: Derek Oxendine, Shawnda Cummings, Shania McMillian, Shakisha Davis, Jaelyn Wynn, Teresa Bryant, Jocelyn Graham, Sarah Hunt, Amber Russ, Whitney Jackson, Devan Britt, Kristie Hunt, Asa Lowry, Leslie Locklear, Rhonda Locklear, Kasey Jones

Absent: Kelley Koch, Micheal Baxley

3. Approval of Agenda

4. Reports/Remarks Guest

a. Chancellor Cummings

i. Chancellor Cummings shared updates regarding the new Omicron variant, positivity rates in NC, as well as a low positivity rate at UNCP. The Chancellor explained the importance of recruiting and retaining our students to Staff Council Members. Additionally, he shared new School of Business updates and updates on the inclement weather.

b. Angela Revels, Human Resources

- i. Angela shared important updates regarding the Employee Engagement Survey, and mandatory raises
- ii. Braves Kickoff Date: August 10-11, 2022
- iii. Erskine B. Bowles Staff Award

c. Mark Gogal, Chief of Staff

- i. March 31 renaming of West Hall to Joseph B. Oxendine Hall, 11 AM
- ii. April 21 Ribbon cutting ceremony for James A. Thomas School of Business, 11 AM
- iii. All funds budget has been implemented by Finance & Administration; State and Non-State Funds need to be budgeted. In the past, we only were concerned with State Funds. Board of Trustees will now have to approve budgets. In the past, we submitted only for their review.

d. Charles Leffler, Finance and Administration

e. Dr. Joe West, Faculty Senate, Chair

- i. Will do a better job of attending Staff Council meetings this year.
- ii. Has an open-door policy. Please come to him with any concerns or issues relating to Faculty.

f. Sharon Blue

i. Thank You

5. New Business

a. Election of Officers/Committees

Vice Chair: Teresa Bryant

Secretary/Treasurer: Shania McMillian **Parliamentarian:** Shawnda Cummings

Chair Elect: Devan Britt

Election Committee: Shakisha Davis, Kristie Hunt, Becca Kenney, Jaelyn Wynn

Executive Committee: Jaelyn Wynn, Teresa Bryant, Shania McMillian, Shawnda Cummings,

Devan Britt

Employee Recognition Committee: All Staff Council Members

Constitution Committee: Shakisha Davis, Derek Oxendine, Amber Russ, Whitney Jackson, Leslie Locklear, Jaelyn Wynn

Publications & Information Committee: Jaelyn Wynn, Kristie Hunt, Amber Russ, Jocelyn Graham, Becca Kenney

Human Resources Committee: Rhonda Locklear, Shania McMillian, Devan Britt, Jaelyn Wynn, Shawnda Cummings

Scholarship Committee: Jaelyn Wynn, Kristie Hunt, Whitney Jackson, Jocelyn Graham

Budget Committee: Becca Kenney, Amber Russ, Teresa Bryant, Jaelyn Wynn

- b. Town Hall Meeting Friday, January 21 at 3 pm
 - i. Town Hall meeting has been **postponed** due to weather. It has been rescheduled to Friday, January 28th at 3:30 PM. Please attend if your schedule allows.

6. Old Business

- a. Wellness Subcommittee
 - i. Jaelyn Wynn, Kristie Hunt, Rhonda Locklear, Shawnda Cummings, Becca Kenney, Shakisha Davis, Shania McMillian, Asa Lowry, Whitney Jackson
- b. Employee of the Month
 - i. Everyone agreed to keep the Employee of the Month to continue boosting staff morale.
- c. Meeting times
 - i. 3rd Thursday every month at 12 PM. Will provide update on February location soon. Next meeting on Feb 17th at 12 PM.
- 7. Announcements
 - a. Open
- 8. Adjournment