## THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT PEMBROKE

## LAND ACKNOWLEDGMENT

North Carolina is home to eight federally or state-recognized tribes: Coharie, Eastern Band of Cherokee, Haliwa-Saponi, Lumbee, Meherrin, Occaneechi Band of the Saponi Nation, Sappony and Waccamaw Siouan.

The University of North Carolina at Pembroke respectfully acknowledges that the lands within and surrounding present-day Robeson County are the traditional homelands and gathering places of many Indigenous peoples—notably the Lumbee.

We share an ongoing responsibility to safeguard these lands and to respect the sovereignty of the Lumbee Tribe of North Carolina. UNC Pembroke honors all Indigenous elders—past, present and emerging—who have been and remain an integral part of the history and culture of this region.

