## Faculty Research Advisory Board Meeting Minutes 4/26/2017 Oxendine 2208

Members present: Rita Hagevik, Chair, Irina Falls, Bishwa Koirala, secretary.

Members absent: John Roe, Richard Vela, Ryan Anderson, Josh Busman

There were no minutes from the March meeting due to lack of members present. Report from the Chair:

Discussion of rotation of FRAB members – see below:

From Scott Hicks: The senate chair recommends candidates to the Senate for membership on the committee, and the Senate confirms the members. I would suggest in the future that the board vote on or suggest future members (or continuing members) that the Chair then would submit to the Senate for confirmation. The five divisions of the Senate that I seek to be mindful of are Arts (Josh Busman – formerly John Labadie), Education (Irina Falls), Letters (Ryan Anderson and Richard Vela), Natural Sciences & Mathematics (Rita Hagevik and John Roe), and Social & Behavioral Sciences (Bishwa Koirala). The bylaws stipulate a diversity of disciplines, and these divisions help to accomplish this diversity. In selecting the current membership, I also was attentive to rank, recommending individuals at assistant, associate, and full professor ranks. The goal of the FRAB according to the faculty handbook was clarified. This goal of the FRAB is: to shall advise the Faculty Senate and the Chancellor with respect to issues affecting faculty research, scholarly and creative activity. It shall propose initiatives that support faculty research, scholarship and creative activity; consider issues related to these activities submitted to it by the faculty; and monitor the general campus climate for such efforts. The committee is charged with meeting at least once per semester, producing a report to the Faculty Senate once per semester, and meeting with the Chancellor in an advisory role once per semester.

Appointments to the FRAB committee are on three year terms. However, due to a restart of the committee, some members will rotate off in three years and others in four years. Here is the rotation schedule that the FRAB committee approved last year: It was decided that Arts, Education, and Social & Behavior would rotate off the committee after four years and that Letters, Natural Sc. & Math would rotate off the committee after three years. Josh Busman, Irina Falls, Bishwa Koirala terms are 2015 – 2019 and Ryan Anderson, Richard Vela, Rita Hagevik, and John Roe terms are 2015-2018. Welcome to Irina Falls as the new Chair of the FRAB for the 2017-2018 academic year and to Josh Busman as the new secretary for the 2017-2018 academic year.

## VII. Old Business

Discussion of Faculty Survey results by committee – quantitative results presented by Bishwa and qualitative results presented by Rita. Discussion of report to be outlined during meeting

and written to the Faculty Senate regarding findings by the FRAB based on the data from the faculty research and grants survey and the grant writing workshop evaluations.

## VIII. New Business

Discussion of meeting schedule and place for next academic year by Irina Falls. Initial goal setting discussion for committee for next year.

- IX. Announcements none
- X. Adjournment at 4:20 pm