Important Updates about COVID-19

Read more about UNCP's response to COVID-19.

Former Chancellors

Dr. Kyle R. Carter

Dr. Kyle R. Carter
Chancellor (2010-2015)
Bachelor of Arts in psychology from Mercer University, a Master of Arts in educational psychology, and a Ph.D. in educational psychology

Charles R. Jenkins

Charles R. Jenkins
Interim Chancellor (2009 - 2010)
B.S., M.A.Ed., East Carolina University; Ed.D., Duke University

Allen C. Meadors

Allen C. Meadors
Chancellor (1999 - 2009); Chancellor Emeritus (2009 - present)
B.B.A, University of Central Arkansas; M.B.A., University of Northern Colorado; M.P.A., University of Kansas; M.A., M.A., Webster University; Ph.D., Southern Illinois University; FACHE

Joseph B. Oxendine

Joseph B. Oxendine
Chancellor (1989 - 1999); Chancellor Emeritus (1999 - present)
B.A., Catawba College; M.Ed., Ed.D., Boston University

Paul R. Givens

Paul R. Givens
Chancellor (1979 - 1989); Chancellor Emeritus (1989 - 2004)
B.A., M.A., George Peabody College; Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

English E. Jones

English E. Jones
President (1962 - 1972); Chancellor (1972 - 1979); Chancellor Emeritus (1979 - 1981)
B.S., University of Kentucky; M.S., North Carolina State University; LL.D., Wake Forest University; D.H. The University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Walter J. Gale

Walter J. Gale
President (1956 - 1962)
B.S., New Jersey State Teachers College; M. Ed., Ed.D., Duke University

Ralph D. Wellons

Ralph D. Wellons
President (1942 - 1956)
A.B., M.A., Indiana University; Ph.D., Teachers College, Columbia University

O.H. (Owens Hand) Browne

O.H. (Owens Hand) Browne
Acting President (1940 - 1942)
B.S., North Carolina State University; Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Superintendents and Presidents

G.G. Maughon, Superintendent, 1935-1940
J.E. Sawyer, Superintendent, 1929-1935
S.B. Smithey, Principal, 1926-1929
A.B. Riley, Principal, 1922-1926
T.C. Henderson, Principal, 1918-1922
H.A. Neal, Principal, 1914-1918
O.V. Hamrick, Principal, 1912-1914
H. (Henry) L. Edens, Principal, 1908-1912
T.M. Seawell, Principal, 1906-1908
Rev. D.F. (Doctor Fuller) Lowry, Principal, 1906 (completed Clark's term)
M.E. Clark, Principal, 1905-1906
T.C. Henderson, Principal, 1900-1904
Rev. Oscar R. Sampson, Principal, 1899 (completed Jones' term)
W. Jones, Principal, 1899
J. Lamb, Principal, 1897-1898
P.B. Hiden, Principal, 1896
David Baldharrie Simpson, Principal, 1894-1896
Charles Stewart, Principal, 1891-1894
Ezra Baulder, Principal, 1890
Rev. W.L. (William Luther) Moore, Principal, 1887-1890