Wrestler Ownbey wins national championship; team finishes 11th


CLEVELAND, Ohio – Three-time all-American wrestler Daniel Ownbey forced a stall point with 15 seconds left in the third and final period for a 2-1 win over Ouachita Baptist’s Joshua Myers in the 141-pound title match at the 2014 NCAA Division II National Championships on Saturday.
Daniel OwnbeyThe national title marked UNCP’s second in three years. Mike Williams claimed the title in 2012. Coupled with a fourth place finish by Justin Pencook (157 pounds) and an eighth place finish by Blaze Shade (174), the Braves finished in 11th place in team standings.
Ownbey needed a 6-4 overtime victory over eighth-ranked C.J. Napier of Fort Hays State in the semifinals to advance to the title match, and then went toe-to-toe with Myers before pulling off the late win. The wrestlers traded escapes in the second and third periods, but Ownbey prevailed when Myers was issued his second stall warning late in the final stanza. The national championship match was the 98th victory of the Asheville, N.C., native’s collegiate career.
Pencook, who turned in a victory in Friday evening’s consolation action after falling in the championship quarterfinals, turned in a 7-5 overtime victory over third-ranked Zak Vargo of Lake Erie in Saturday’s consolation quarterfinals before falling to fourth-ranked Clint Poster of St. Cloud State in the third place bout.
Shade, who rebounded from an opening-round loss on Friday with two victories in the consolation bracket, dropped a 3-1 overtime match to seventh-ranked Zeb Wahle of Maryville on a controversial takedown in the consolation quarterfinals, and then fell 7-0 to seventh-ranked Trevor Grant of Colorado State-Pueblo in the seventh place bout.


141 Pounds

No. 4 Daniel Ownbey (UNCP) tech. fall Sam Hanau (Pitt-Johnstown) TF 22-5; 6:10
No. 4 Daniel Ownbey (UNCP) dec. No. 1 Ryan Fillingame (Adams State) SV 8-6
No. 4 Daniel Ownbey (UNCP) dec. C.J. Napier (Fort Hays State) SV 5-3
No. 4 Daniel Ownbey (UNCP) dec. Joshua Myers (Ouachita Baptist) D 2-1

157 Pounds

No. 8 Justin Pencook (UNCP) dec. Bobby Williams (Ouachita Baptist) D 6-4
No. 5 Jon Rivera (Notre Dame, Ohio) dec. No. 8 Justin Pencook (UNCP) D 8-6
No. 8 Justin Pencook (UNCP) dec. No. 7 Zach Voytek (Seton Hill) D 9-6
No. 8 Justin Pencook (UNCP) dec. Zak Vargo (Lake Erie) SV 7-5
No. 4 Clint Poster (St. Cloud State) pinned No. 8 Justin Pencook (UNCP) F 4:17

174 Pounds

No. 6 Chester Granard (Colorado Mesa) dec. No. 8 Blaze Shade (UNCP) D 6-4
No. 8 Blaze Shade (UNCP) pinned Luis Alba (McKendree) F 0:55
No. 8 Blaze Shade (UNCP) dec. Jake Begin (Southwest Minnesota State) D 9-2
No. 7 Zeb Wahle (Maryville) dec. No. 8 Blaze Shade (UNCP) SV 3-1
No. 7 Trevor Grant (Colorado State-Pueblo) dec. No. 8 Blaze Shade (UNCP) D 7-0

285 Pounds

No. 2 Steven Butler (Lindenwood) pinned No. 6 Chris Giddens (UNCP) F 0:41
Chris Giddens (UNCP) dec. Mike Hill (Chadron State) D 5-2
No. 3 Austin Goergen (St. Cloud State) pinned No. 8 Chris Giddens (UNCP) F 4:04