UNCP staff recognized for years of service

Susan Cummings receiving her award
Susan Cummings receiving her award for 40 years of service from Chancellor Robin Gary Cummings.

The audience stood and cheered for Susan Cummings during UNC Pembroke’s annual staff service awards luncheon.

The loud applause was in stark contrast to the hushed noise level inside the Mary Livermore Library where Cummings has served as a cataloging specialist for the past four decades.

She has a clear memory of January 4, 1978 – the day vice chancellor Bill Mason called and offered her a clerk position.  

“I’ve been coming to work here for 40 years and I wouldn’t trade a single day,” Cummings said. “This university has been a part of my entire life.”

For 35 years, UNCP has been like a second home for Cynthia Oxendine, too. She worked her way up the ranks within the Division of Student Affairs, today serving as assistant vice chancellor.

“I’ve spent my entire professional career at this great institution,” she said. “Through the years I've been inspired by thousands of students, worked with some awesome colleagues, and have made lifelong friends.  Some of my favorite memories have been times spent with students–many of whom I now call ‘friend.’

Cummings and Oxendine were among 73 employees honored at the luncheon. The group has dedicated a combined 1,080 years of service to the university and the state of North Carolina.

Four others–Larry Gales, Marla Locklear, John Haskins and James Frederick–also reached the 30-year plateau.

Chancellor Robin Gary Cummings told the honorees no matter their role, they are educating students.

“What you accomplish here daily along with your passion for this university makes a profound difference in the lives of our students,” he said.

“This university is a special place. Without it, our region wouldn’t be the same. And without you, UNC Pembroke would not be what it is today. When you go back to your jobs, remember, you are changing the lives of students. You are impacting generations to come.”

In his closing remarks, Provost David Ward borrowed the title of a Norah Jones’ hit song to express his gratitude. 

“You humble me. You humble me with your service, you humble me your dedication to this university and you humble me with your dedication to our students.”

Employees recognized for five years of service:

Leslie Bell, Academic Affairs

Rebecca Bullard-Dillard, Sponsored Research and Programs

Gordon Byrd, Maynor Honors College

Robin Gary Cummings, Office of the Chancellor

Chris Hunt, Office for Regional Initiatives

Sherry Jones, Office of the Controller

Marlane Mowitz, Career Center

Megan Sanger, Department of Athletics

Charles Swayne, Division of Information Technology

Franklin Smith, Division of Information Technology

David Ybarra, University Communications and Marketing


Employees recognized for 10 years of service:

Scott Boutselis, Facilities Operations

Vicky Brewer, Division of Information Technology

Phillip Bullard, Police and Public Safety

Kellie Cain, Office of the Controller

Janet Cummings, Facilities Operations

Lora Cummings, Facilities Operations

Ronette Gerber, Office of the Chancellor

Sheila Hardee, Office of Human Resources

Othello “O.T.” Johnson, Health and Human Performance

April Whittermore Locklear, Career Center

Chris Locklear, Facilities Operations

Elizabeth Locklear, Student Health Services

Ben Miller, Health and Human Performance

Kristy Nance, Financial Planning and Budgeting

Ashley Oxendine, Center for Student Success

Christie Poteet, Community and Civic Engagement

Michael Rogers, Facilities Operations

Lamon Sanderson, Facilities Operations

Jeff Sanderson, Facilities Operations

Chris Scott, Facilities Operations

Karen Tucker, Office of the Controller

Ronette Wilson, Academic and Military Outreach


Employees recognized for 15 years of service

Dawn Albrecht, Division of Information Technology

Scott Billinglsey, Academic Affairs

Dena Bolles, University Communications and Marketing

Hope Bullock, Department of Chemistry and Physics

Drake Chavis, Facilities Operations

Geraldine Dial, Facilities Operations

Kimilla Floyd, Center for Student Success

Chomeka Franklin, Auxiliary Business Services

Jeff Frederick, College of Arts and Sciences

Janet Gentes, College of Arts and Sciences

Roselee Hunt, Bursar’s Office

Dean Jacobs, Facilities Operations

Sam Jacobs, Mary Livermore Library

Bobby Locklear, Facilities Planning-Construction

Tabitha Locklear, Division of Information Technology

Willie Scott, Facilities Operations

Wendy Sweat, Center for Student Success


Employees recognized for 20 years of service

James Bass, Givens Performing Arts Center

Alfred Bowen, Police and Public Safety

Keats Ellis, Office of Financial Aid

Becky Goins, Museum of Southeast American Indian

Doug Hammonds, Facilities Operations

Rebecca Hunt, Facilities Operations

Wanda Hunt, Division of Information Technology

Gary Locklear, Facilities Operations

Jean Jacobs, Facilities Operations

Leah Jacobs-Hammonds, Mary Livermore Library

Tonya Sikes, Purchasing


Employees recognized for 25 years of service

Debbie Bullard, Accessibility Resource Center

Tony L. Chavis, Division of Information Technology

Cynthia Revels, Bursar’s Office

Mildred Weber, Financial Aid


Employees recognized for 30 years of service

James Frederick, School of Business

Larry Gales, Police and Public Safety

John Haskins, Health and Human Performance

Marla Locklear, Office of the Chancellor


Employees recognized for 35 years of service

Cynthia Oxendine, Student Affairs


Employees recognized for 40 years of service

Susan Cummings, Mary Livermore Library