UNCP names recipients of leadership and service awards


Genevieve LeBeau, a senior business major from Quebec, Canada, was the recipient of the 2005 Award for Outstanding Leadership and Service at The University of North Carolina at Pembroke.

lsop award
Genevieve LeBeau, center, accepts UNCP’s Outstanding Leadership and Service Award from leadership Director Melanie Clark, right. Her sister Christelle is on the right.

LeBeau accepted the award at the 6th annual Leadership and Service Opportunities Program’s Leadership Brunch (LSOP) on April 27.

Earlier in the week, LeBeau and classmate Christy Blue of Laurinburg, N.C., were named the Outstanding Undergraduate Business Students. As vice president and president (respectively), of the School of Business’ SIFE Club (Students in Free Enterprise), they also took home the Chancellor’s Cup Award, given annually to the University’s top student organization.

“More than 700 students participated in LSOP this year, completing more than 10,000 hours of community service work,” said Abdul Ghaffar, director of Student Activities. “That is a new record for us. You guys are the best of the best.”

“Genevieve is a living, breathing example of outstanding leadership,” said Melanie Clark, LSOP director. “She has the remarkable ability to reach across boundaries.”

Besides compiling a 3.998 grade point average, LeBeau earned LSOP’s Distinguished Leadership Award all four years at UNCP for completing at least 50 hours of community service. She volunteered with the Boys and Girls Home, Southeastern Family Violence Center, Habitat for Humanity and Adopt-a-Highway while participating in a wide range of University activities including SIFE, the University Honors College, Baptist Student Union, and several other clubs.

Lea Winfield, who directed the annual Campaign for Compassion was honored with a plaque for her service. A part of the weeklong consciousness-raising program, a dance-a-thon raised $330 for the Robeson County Church and Community Center’s homeless shelter.

Honored at the Leadership Brunch were Horizon Leaders - 12 first-year students who completed at least 30 hours of community service, Distinguished Leaders - 77 students who completed 50 or more hours, Leadership Fellows - 15 seniors who completed more than 150 hours, and NC ACTS! AmeriCorps participants – eight students who will complete 300 hours of community service this academic year and receive a $1,000 educational award.

Horizon Leaders:

  • Lyndsey Daniels
  • Jeanetta Dunn
  • Nicole Gillenwater
  • Angela Harding
  • Amber Holland
  • Rachel Loflin
  • Tamika Nolen
  • Jimmie Peterson
  • Jacqueline Scott
  • Leah Sisco
  • Kathryn Smith
  • Brittany Taylor

Distinguished Leaders:

  • Melba Aiken
  • Scott Ammons
  • Aubrey Ardiente
  • Jeshannah Ayala
  • Maureen Baisley
  • Lindsay Bartholf
  • Porcia Brown
  • Joyce Brown
  • Jenny Bruns
  • Loretta Chavis
  • Broch Clinton
  • Andrea Cooper
  • Leslie Cranford
  • Christin Cyrus
  • Charlie Davis
  • Salyna Dvorovy
  • Taneisha Epps (December 2004 Graduate)
  • Heather Flanagin
  • Darlene Ford
  • Jenein Frazier
  • Beulah Galeener
  • Tara Govan
  • Megan Grimsley
  • Neil Guin
  • Erica Handon
  • Hannah Harrell
  • Ivorie Hayes
  • Jennifer Howell
  • Louvenia Hunt
  • Lantreco Jackson
  • Sonia Jackson
  • Marvin Jacobs
  • Barbara Jacobson
  • Deborah James
  • Kirsten Johnson (December 2004 Graduate)
  • Venessa Jones
  • Brenda Lathen
  • Christelle LeBeau
  • Genevieve LeBeau
  • Joyce Lewis
  • Nakeshia Lewis
  • Crystal Little (December 2004 Graduate)
  • Dominique Mack
  • Sonja Mack
  • Leila Mayer
  • Jamie McCall
  • Sandra McCallum
  • Andrea Miyagi
  • Gautam Nayer (December 2004 Graduate)
  • Chika Okonkwo
  • Natasha Oris-Thomas
  • Jessica Ortiz
  • Sherry Oxendine
  • Lenora Parker
  • Ashley Person
  • Vanessa Pettigrew
  • Carrie Preston
  • Melvin Roach
  • Marshella Rouse
  • Siji Schoonmaker
  • Rachel Serrano
  • Byron Shelton
  • Precious Stokes (December 2004 Graduate)
  • Vancine Sturdivant (December 2004 Graduate)
  • David Townsend
  • Cedric Turner
  • Blake Tyner
  • Kelly Velez
  • Tameka Walker
  • Amy Walters
  • Heather Walters
  • Helen Warwick
  • Lea Winfield
  • Victor Womack
  • Don Woods
  • Siporia Wrighten
  • Daniel Young

Leadership Fellows:

  • Loretta Chavis
  • Taneisha Epps (December 2004 Graduate)
  • Sosna Gedlu (December 2004 Graduate)
  • Hannah Harrell
  • Ivorie Hayes
  • Barbara Jacobson
  • Kirsten Johnson (December 2004 Graduate)
  • Genevieve LeBeau
  • Crystal Little (December 2004 Graduate)
  • Andrea Miyagi
  • Gautam Nayer (December 2004 Graduate)
  • Adria Pontious
  • Carrie Preston
  • Rachel Serrano
  • Vancine Sturdivant (December 2004 Graduate)

NC ACTS! Educational Award Recipients:

  • Christopher Conner
  • Salyna Dvorovy
  • Ramon Gonzalez
  • Jane Layton
  • Joyce Lewis
  • Tasha Mehne
  • Blake Tyner
  • Senel Vurgun-Izin

LSOP’s Board of Directors were also honored. They are Megan Grimsley, Jamie McCall, Charlie Davis, Scott Ammons and Brenda Lathen.
In the Chancellor’s Cup large club competition, which spanned the school year. Zeta Phi Beta sorority claimed second place, followed by Phi Kappa Tau fraternity. In small club competition, Phi Beta Sigma fraternity won, followed by Lambda Theta Alpha sorority and Kappa Alpha Psi fraternity.

For more information on LSOP, please call 910.521.6207 or email melanie.clark@uncp.edu.