UNCP gives student service and leadership awards


By Hannah Simpson

The Center for Leadership and Service (CLS), Student Life and Greek Life collaborated to create the Student Development Awards Ceremony held April 26 at The University of North Carolina at Pembroke.


Leadership Fellows from left: Valerie Buhite, Megan Grimsley, Neil Guin, Christelle Lebeau, Leila Mayer, Sandra McCallum, Shekila Melchior, Jessica Ortiz, Elena Potts and Cedric Turner. Not pictured were Charlie Davis, Tim Kang, Kristi Sinclair and Lea Winfield. Leadership Fellows are graduating seniors who accumulate 150 hours of service or more.

Alan Chase, a math and political science major, received the Outstanding Leadership and Service Award.

“(Chase) has characterized himself to the UNCP campus and community by demonstrating a high degree of commitment, reliability and consistency in his service to others,” said Aubrey Swett, CLS director.

Chase’s undergraduate career is full of roles with diverse groups on campus. He was a peer educator, president of the Disabled Students Organization, assistant circulation manager for The Pine Needle student newspaper and a former SGA senator.

SGA’s new leadership was formally installed at the ceremony.

“This is probably my last duty as student body vice president, so it is humbling,” said Mo Mutima as he presented the 2007 - 08 Vice President Barry Burch with a gavel as a symbol of the changing of the guard for the new school year.

The ceremony featured the newly established Greek life Assessment Recognition Program.

According to Sara Jahansouz, director for UNCP’s Greek Life, the program was created to provide feedback and evaluate the Greek organizations.

The recipients for the Center for Leadership and Service, Student Life and Greek Life are as follows:

LEADERS IN TRAINING is a program designed for students who want to learn more about themselves and others while strengthening their leadership skills.

The program provides opportunities for students to gain the leadership experience and knowledge that will give them an edge on their peers with a lasting impact on the UNCP campus and the surrounding community.

Recipients are Alexandra Dillard, Andrew Gibson, William Cornett and Joshua White.

NC-ACTS is a program sponsored by the North Carolina Campus Compact. It provides an opportunity for undergraduates to gain valuable professional experience through voluntary service.

The following students are recognized for successfully completing over 300 hours of voluntary service during the 2006 - 07 academic year. In addition to a completion certificate, these students will receive a $1,000 Education Award.

The recipients are Ashley Lane Blue, Porcia Brown, Charlie Davis, Cletis C. Deese, Alyssa Johnson, Ruby B. Locklear, Charlotte Monroe, Penny L. Oxendine and Constance Pearson.


Freshmen who engage their campus and community by completing eight workshops and 30 hours of service during the academic year are recognized as Horizon Leaders. The 2006-07 Horizon Leaders are Jana-Rae Bass, William Cornett, Solita Jones, Ashley Justice, Brian Norton and Chrissy Swett


Sophomores, juniors and seniors who continue their engagement on campus and in the community by completing eight workshops and accumulate 50 hours of service are recognized as Distinguished Leaders. The 2006 - 07 Distinguished Leaders are Obuba Agina-Obu, Yetunde Akindahumsi, Amy Avirett, Lyndsey Daniels, Jeanetta Dunn, Salyna Dvorovy, Nicole Gillenwater, Kelly Griffith, Shahnee Haire, Marvin Jacobs, Kyle Jacumin, Joey Kirk, Gwynn Little, Dominique Mack, Raymond Pearson, Brittany Ray, Terri Rorke, Terria Sinclair, Anke Turner, Joseph Waring, Anitra Williams and Don Woods


Graduating seniors who accumulate 150 hours of service or more and continue to engage in service to the campus and community by completing eight workshops during the academic year are recognized as Leadership Fellows.

The recipients were hooded by Dr. Tom Corti, assistant vice chancellor for Student Development, after receiving a plaque. The 2006 - 07 Leadership Fellows are Valerie Buhite, Charlie Davis, Megan Grimsley, Neil Guin, Tim Kang, Christelle Lebeau, Leila Mayer, Sandra McCallum, Shekila Melchior, Jessica Ortiz, Elena Potts, Kristi Sinclair, Cedric Turner and Lea Winfield.


The Outstanding Leadership and Service award is in memory of Sim White, a December 2002 graduate and LSOP member who died on February 18, 2003.

The 2007 LSOP Outstanding Leadership & Service award recipient is Alan Chase.


Senator of the month - Martin Cooper
Senator of the Semester - DaTwon Canty
Senator of the Year - Musheerah Ali
Outstanding Committee of the Year - Food Committee
Unsung Senator Award - Angelica Solomen
President’s Award - Mo Mutima
Student Life Leadership Award  - Marvin Jacobs, Jesse Dobbin and Sonia Sledge 


Outstanding Educational Programming - Lambda Theta Alpha
Service and Philanthropy - Lambda Theta Alpha
Values Integration - Lambda Theta Alpha and Zeta Phi Beta
Leadership Development - Lambda Theta Alpha
Commitment to Community - Lambda Theta Alpha
Academic Programming - Lambda Theta Alpha
Highest Chapter GPA:
Fraternity - Epsilon Chi Nu
Sorority - Zeta Phi Beta
Future Leader of Today - Barry Burch, Kappa Alpha Psi
Chapter President of the Year - Shekila Melchior, Zeta Phi Beta 
Fraternity Man of the Year - Jesse Dobbin III and James Campbell
Sorority Woman of the Year - Morgan Lucas (Lambda Theta Alpha Latin Sorority, Inc.)


Nicole Gillenwater - One Night Stand coordinator
Kendra Burnette - vice coordinator and main stage coordinator,
Wendy Gunderson - Pembroke expanded and marketing coordinator,
India Dukes, secretary/treasurer, and Sonia Sledge were honored for their work as the ACE Executive Board.

Hannah Simpson is a first year student majoring in Mass Communications and Political Science.