Important COVID-19 Update

Read more about UNCP's response to COVID-19. 

UNC Pembroke installs new SGA officers

Chancellor Robin Gary Cummings is pictured with the newly-inducted SGA members for the 2019-20 academic year
Chancellor Robin Gary Cummings, center, congratulates newly-inducted members of the Student Body Government Association for the 2019-20 academic year

The Student Government Association at UNC Pembroke welcomed its new officers during an induction ceremony on Wednesday.

The 15 students were administered the oath of office by Chancellor Robin Gary Cummings in front of historic Old Main. He commended the student leaders for winning the support of their peers.

“What a great honor to know your fellow students consider you worthy of this role. Thank you for your willingness to serve your fellow students and our university. When you assume these leadership roles, you are exhibiting UNC Pembroke’s core value of service,” Cummings said.

The SGA is composed of an executive branch and a legislative branch. The executive branch consists of the president, vice president, and the cabinet–which includes the chief of staff, treasurer, secretary and committee chairs. The legislative branch consists of the student senate, a body of elected student senators.  

“We are pumped for the upcoming year,” said SGA President Thomas Crowe-Allbritton. “They are all bringing in new ideas centered around helping students become more engaged on campus and in the community. Like we have in the past, we are going to continue to focus on voter registration efforts for students and remaining engaged with our community partners.”

Crowe-Allbritton, a senior history major, said the SGA leadership is expected to grow in the coming weeks after more elections are held.

SGA Vice President Cotrayia Hardison said new leaders are a “special” group of students tasked with representing the most diverse university in the Southeast.

“You will be responsible for advocating for people who are like and those who may not be like you and those who don’t come from the same background. Don’t be afraid to use your voice,” said Hardison, a junior political science major.

“You have the power to bridge the gap between administration and students, students and SGA, and students and the community. You will have the opportunity to serve the most diverse university in the Southeast.”

The 2019-20 inductees are: Desmond Woods, chief of staff; Tiffany Joyner, secretary; Randi Dagenhart; treasurer; Katrina Harrison; Academic Affairs Committee chair; KaylaVera McBride, Government Operations Committee chair; Tyler Harris, University and Community Relations Committee chair; and Simone Spencer; liaison to the UNC System Association of Student Governments. 

The senators are Lilian Marino, Stephanie Berntsen, Zyreke Ward, Brianna Thompson, Brianna Thompson, Anthony Carter, Tineshalee Rosado, Emily Thompson and Jamal Bennett.