• weather Alert ✖CLOSE

    Due to winter weather, the university will operate on condition 1—reduced operations—from 8 a.m. until 12 p.m. Wednesday, January 17. The university will operate on condition 2--suspended operations--from 12 p.m. Wednesday until 8 a.m. Thursday morning. All classes and activities beginning after 12 p.m. on Wednesday will be cancelled. More information can be found at: uncp.edu/news/winter-weather-wednesday-january-17


News & Events
News & Events
UNCP Home News & Events Sybil Bullard elected chair of UNCP trustees
  • A
  • A

Sybil Bullard elected chair of UNCP trustees

August 18, 2006

Sybil Jones Bullard of Pembroke, N.C., was elected chair of the Board of Trustees of The University of North Carolina at Pembroke on July 29.

Sybil Bullard
Breeden Blackwell
Donald Bonner

Bullard takes the gavel from Carl Meares Jr. of Fair Bluff, N.C. A UNC Board of Governors appointee to the board, she will serve a one-year term as chair.

Bullard was the first woman to be named Robeson County Farmer of the Year in 2003.She farms 1,800 acres with her husband Danny in the Pembroke area, raises beef and operates J.R. Jones Grain, Inc., a grain elevator in Red Springs, N.C. She is also on the Board of Directors for Lumbee Guaranty Bank, headquartered in Pembroke.

Dr. Breeden Blackwell of Fayetteville, N.C., was named vice chair. Blackwell is a retired educator and an elected member of the Cumberland County Board of Commissioners.

Donald Bonner of Rowland, N.C., was elected Secretary. He is a retired educator and four-term member of the North Carolina House of Representatives.

The newly formed Personnel Committee will consist of Becky Bullard of Lumberton, N.C., Freda Porter of Pembroke, N.C., Blackwell, and Meares. Roger Oxendine of Rowland, N.C., rounds out the Executive Committee.