Important Updates about COVID-19

Read more about UNCP's response to COVID-19.

School of Education recognizes scholarship recipients

School of Education

The School of Education at The University of North Carolina at Pembroke recently held a ceremony to recognize scholarship recipients for the 2017-2018 academic year.

The ceremony was held on May 3 in the University Center Annex. After acknowledging the donors, Dr. Angela McDonald, associate dean for School of Education, recognized the following scholarship recipients:

  • Aggie Goins Deese Endowed Scholarship – Elena Delvalle
  • Anderson N. Locklear Endowed Memorial Scholarship – Meghan Canady, Rachel Jacobs
  • Brian Freeman Teacher Education Scholarship – Abigail Cain
  • Caton Family Endowment Scholarship – Meghan Canady, William Herbert
  • Charlie H. & Marie Sampson Moore Scholarship – Chelsey Cartrette, Rachel Jacobs
  • Dr. Sharon Sharp Memorial Scholarship – Angela Baker, Courtney Buffkin
  • Hattie M. Strong Scholars – Kimberly Fuqua, Hellen Kelly, April Maynor
  • Herman & Louise Jenkins Endowed Memorial Scholarship – Angela Baker
  • James H. & Katherine B. Dial Scholarship – Kimberly Fuqua
  • James Leon and Christine R. Hunt Scholarship – Courtney Buffkin, Isaiah Jackson
  • Josephine B. Lucente Scholarship – Hannah Harrold
  • JT & Vera Doris Locklear Malcolm Endowment – Alaina Malcolm
  • Legacy Award in Teacher Education – Joan Blackwell, Abigail Cain, Courtney Buffkin, Chelsey Cartrette, Katelyn Lowry
  • Louise Bell Locklear Memorial Scholarship – Kimberly Fuqua, Rachel Jacobs
  • LRDA Early Childhood Development Scholarship – Brittany Bass
  • Mary Elizabeth Jones Brayboy Scholarship – Kimberly Fuqua, Rachel Jacobs
  • Purnell Swett Endowed Teachers’ Fellowship Award – Sean Marshall
  • Sheltering Home Circle of the King’s Daughters and Sons – Rachel Jacobs
  • Stacy Locklear Sr. Endowed Scholarship – Sean Marshall
  • The Dial-Chavis SNCAE Scholarship – Katelyn Lowry
  • The Linda Walter Larke Endowed School Scholarship – Hannah Harrold
  • Wendy L. Klenotiz Endowed Memorial Scholarship – Courtney Berkley, Kimberly Fuqua, Kaitlyn Gause, Hannah Middleton, Christian Threatt

A special thanks to the Scholarship Committee. The committee members are Dr. Claudia Nickoloson, Julie Leach, Dr. Leslie Locklear, Dr. Whitney Akers, Dr. Dorea Bonneau, Carolina Taylor, Clere Morrison and Dr. Camille Goins.