Leadership, community service finds reward at UNCP



Barbara Jacobson (right) with Melanie Clark, Director of Leadership and Community Service

A "soft-spoken" and "quiet leader who leads by example" is how Fayetteville native and sophomore Barbara Jacobson is described by her friends. Jacobson is the winner of UNC Pembroke's top annual volunteer and community service award.

The Leadership and Service Opportunities Program at UNC Pembroke hosted its 4th annual awards ceremony on April 23. The program, which recruits student volunteers and places them in to community service projects, set a new record with 500 participants during the 2002-2003 school year.

  • Sixteen freshmen completed requirements of 30 hours of community service to earn Horizon Leader Awards.
  • Thirty-seven upperclassmen were awarded Distinguished Leader Awards for completing 50 hours of community service.
  • Seventeen upperclassmen received Leadership Fellows Awards for completing 150 hours of community service as undergraduates.

Jacobson won the first Sim White Award for Outstanding Leadership and Service. White, December, 2002 graduate, received the Leadership Fellows Award posthumously.

White, who died February 4, was a social work major, a non-traditional student and an inspiration to everyone, said LSOP Director Melanie Clark.

"Sim was LSOP," Clark said. "He joined it in its very first year. He was a very special person who touched our hearts."

Jacobson, who also received the Distinguished Leader Award, is a member of the soccer team and a biology major with a 3.62 GPA. She is also a member of the Honors College. She volunteered as a tutor in the public schools, camp counselor for underprivileged children and Special Olympics.

Asked how she found time for all of these activities, Jacobson said, "It's not easy, but it's worth it."

Chancellor Allen C. Meadors praised the LSOP award winners.

"So few citizens today take the time to serve, and service is the way to build better communities," Chancellor Meadors said. "I am proud of all of you. Please keep up the good work."

About 12 percent of the UNCP student body participated in LSOP this year, said Student Activities Director Abdul Ghaffar.

ISOP logo"This program says that students do care about leadership, about service and about their communities," Ghaffar said.

Senior Calvin Webster was given special recognition. Webster organized the two-week "Campaign for Compassion" to help fellow students understand the plight of their fellow man and the environment.

"The Campaign for Compassion will continue at UNCP," Clark said. "It is Calvin's legacy."

Several local agencies were honored for their participation in LSOP: Rape Crisis Center, Parent-Student Center at the Public Schools of Robeson County, UNCP's Family Life Center, Palmer Drug Resistance Program and Sodexho Food Services

2002-2003 Horizon Leader Awards (Freshman that have completed 30 hours of service and 8 workshops.)

  • Scott Ammons
  • Kirk Blue
  • Jason Clark
  • Charlie Davis
  • Darlene Derrick
  • Rachel Harbert
  • Karen Hayes
  • Jennifer Howell
  • Lesley Hymbaugh
  • Joanne Kaniewski
  • Jason Locklear
  • Julia Maathey
  • Ryan McGann
  • Faidat Onikoyi
  • Rebecca Owens
  • Rosal Rafael
  • Kelly Velez
  • Tamika Wakeel
  • Michael Zimmermann

2002-2003 Distinguished Leader Awards (Upperclassmen and Graduate Students that have completed 50 hours of service and 8 workshops.)

  • Melissa Abalos
  • Tonye Agina
  • Jeshannah Ayala
  • Paula Beck
  • Tommy Crane
  • Amy Dawkins
  • Ronnie Eddings
  • Misty Fernandez
  • Monica Frink
  • Ron Gaskins
  • Mimi Gedlu
  • Melissa Hunt
  • Barbara Jacobson
  • Genevieve LeBeau
  • Kay Locklear
  • Georgianna Mack
  • Mia Manning
  • Becky LaPolice-Murphy
  • Andrea Miyagi
  • Lenora Parker
  • Dee Patrick
  • Toscha Peyton
  • Yuriy Podvysotskiy
  • Carrie Preston
  • Engle Revels
  • Shannon Revels
  • Rachel Serrano
  • Erin Smith
  • Anthony Staples
  • Sheila Swift
  • Alphonza Thomas
  • Bonita Thomas
  • Luciano Vera
  • Senel Vurgun
  • Calvin Webster
  • Andrea Winter
  • Amy Woodell
  • JC Worthington

2002-2003 Leadership Fellow (Seniors that have completed a cumulative 150 hours of service and 8 workshops their Senior year.)

  • Melissia Belis
  • Sharise Bijou
  • Tommy Crane
  • Darlene Cummings
  • Amy Dawkins
  • Brenda Dean
  • Harry Dingle
  • Ronnie Eddings
  • Melissa Hunt
  • Becky LaPolice-Murphy
  • Corey Marks
  • Jessica Reed
  • Laketa Sutton
  • Sheila Swift
  • Bonita Thomas
  • Calvin Webster
  • Sim White

2002-2003 LSOP Board

  • Tonye Agina
  • Kay Locklear
  • Ryan McGann
  • Dee Patrick
  • Amy Woodell
  • JC Worthington

For more on LSOP, contact Melanie Clark at 910.521.6207 or email melanie.clark@uncp.edu.