Chancellor Meadors, Dr. Len Holmes appointed to Region advisory committee on biotechnology


Twenty-five leaders of business, academia and science from throughout Southeastern North Carolina will serve on an advisory committee of Southeastern North Carolina’s biotechnology development.


Chancellor Allen C. Meadors


Dr. Len Holmes

Appointed from UNC Pembroke were Chancellor Allen C. Meadors and chemistry professor Dr. Len Holmes, who leads the University’s biotechnology efforts.

Designated the advisory committee for biotechnology in Southeastern North Carolina, the group was brought together by the North Carolina Biotechnology Center.

Committee Chair is Dr. Rosemary DePaolo, chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, and Vice Chair is Wendell Murphy, founder of Murphy Family Ventures.

Robeson Community College BioNetwork BioAg Center Manager J.D. Brooks and Lumberton realtor Jane Smith, who represents the N.C. Southeast Regional Partnership, were also named to the advisory panel.

UNCP, which added a biotechnology major in 2005, expects to break ground this winter on a $1.6 million biotechnology research training facility, said Chancellor Meadors.

“UNCP’s future biotechnology facility is important not just for UNCP but for everyone in our region,” Chancellor Meadors said. “The state-of-the-art facility will boost Pembroke’s reputation as a growing biotechnology hub, and will allow UNCP to offer innovative educational programs aimed at inspiring a new, more diverse generation of scientists.”

The advisory committee is an important one, said Randall Johnson, director, Southeastern Office of the North Carolina Biotechnology Center.

“This committee is a diverse and dynamic group of smart and dedicated people,” Johnson said “They will guide our region's biotechnology growth to enhance our economic future. Whether it's marine life, agriculture, health care or manufacturing, the various tools of biotechnology play an increasingly important role in Southeastern North Carolina in producing outcomes that improve people's lives.”

A separate committee held its first meeting the same week in Greenville, N.C., to similarly guide biotechnology growth in Eastern North Carolina. The Biotechnology Center, working with regional partners, has also established advisory committees to serve the Piedmont Triad and Western North Carolina areas.
The North Carolina Biotechnology Center is a state-supported, non-profit organization. Its mission is to provide long-term economic and societal benefits to North Carolina by supporting biotechnology research, business and education statewide.

Contact: at the North Carolina Biotechnology Center, 919.541.9366. Visit the Biotechnology Center's Web site at

Other members include:

  • Dan Baden, director, University of North Carolina at Wilmington Center for Marine Science
  • Bill Burke, board member, Cape Fear Biofuels, Wilmington
  • W. Steven Burke, senior vice president, corporate affairs, North Carolina Biotechnology Center, Research Triangle Park
  • Michael Cain, president, Wilmington Investor Network, Wilmington
  • Terry Coffey, president, Murphy-Brown East, Warsaw
  • Bruce Dawson, principal, Infinomics, LLC, Wilmington
  • Rosemary DePaolo, committee chair and chancellor, University of North Carolina at Wilmington
  • Fred Eshelman, president and CEO, PPD Inc., Wilmington
  • David Fussell Sr., co-founder, Duplin Winery, Rose Hill
  • Michelle Gomperts, biology instructor, Brunswick Community College, Supply
  • Gene Haley, CEO, Wilmington Pharmaceuticals, Wilmington
  • Harry Hart, farmer, Bolton
  • Eric McKeithan, president, Cape Fear Community College, Wilmington
  • Marvin Moss, professor, University of North Carolina at Wilmington
  • Scott Satterfield, CEO, Wilmington Industrial Development, Wilmington
  • H.L. "Steve" Stephenson III, attorney, Ward and Smith, P.A., Attorneys at Law, Winterville
  • John Swope, executive director, Sampson County Economic Development Commission, Clinton
  • Cindy Van Dover, director, Duke University Marine Laboratory, Nicholas School of the Environment and Earth Sciences, Beaufort
  • Amber Zentis, Council for Entrepreneurial Development, Wilmington