Important COVID-19 Update

Read more about UNCP's response to COVID-19. 

Alpha Chi Honor Society welcomes 53 new members

Alpha Chi

Fifty three seniors and juniors who rank in the top 10 percent of their class at UNC Pembroke recently joined the Kappa Chapter of Alpha Chi National College Honor Society.

An induction ceremony was held in the University Center Annex on November 4.

Founded in 1922, Alpha Chi is represented by chapters in over 300 institutions across the country. The new and current members of UNC Pembroke’s Kappa chapter are among the highest achieving on our campus and hail from many different majors and backgrounds.

Several students inducted in 2018 were strictly online students, working full time and using late nights and weekends to complete course work. These distance education students’ hard work was recognized with their invitation to join Alpha Chi.

These most recent inductees join a chapter of Alpha Chi Honor Society that has been active at UNCP for more than 40 years. As these newest members sign their names in the chapter’s member book they are chronicled along with former UNCP Provost Dr. Zoe Locklear and many other prestigious and accomplished alumni since 1976.

The 2018-2019 inductees are:

Talley Barnhill, Leslie Barrett, Jason Bateman, Sarah Bowman, Tawanna Branch, Jessica Braxton, Megan Brinson, Abigail Canela, Ethan Clewis, Xin Dong, Matthew Doyle, Elizabeth Duffy, Kathryn Flax, Michala Freeman, Patrick Gaumond, Allison Glover, Tabitha Hamilton, Taylor Hammonds, Tyler Harris, Hannah Harrold, Daniel Hatley, Wiley Hoover, Jessica Horne, Sandra Huneycutt, Leanna Jacobs, Jalen Jones, Michael Jones Jr., Alexandra Larvie, Kelli Lawrence, Sarah Locklear, Hannah Long, Katelyn Lowry, Breanna McNeill, Hannah Middleton, Cecil Miles, Macelynn Nance, Sydney Oxendine, Vivian Chandler, Sandra Portilla, John Rich, Shana Roark, Orna Shearin, Breanna Sigler, Maggie Smith, Jessica Smith, Kansas Stephens, Cali Stuckey, Race Vanderdecken, Richard Varner II, Humberto Viana, James Walters, Ethan Williamson and Jessica Wilson.