62 UNCP athletes make honor roll


athletic logoHilton Head, SC - A total of 62 UNC Pembroke athletes qualified for the Peach Belt Conference's (PBC) Presidential Honor Roll. It was the second highest in UNCP history.

Peach Belt Conference commissioner Marvin Vanover has announced that a record 687 student-athletes qualified for the 2004 PBC Presidential Honor Roll. Each of the student-athletes maintained a 3.0 grade point average (on a 4.0-point scale) for the year.

The announcement came from the league's annual meeting at Hilton Head, S.C. The 687 honorees from the league's 12 schools passed the old PBC record of 662 set in 2002.

Athletic Director Dan Kenney said the success of UNCP's student-athletes is due, in part, to his coaching staff.

"Our mission statement for UNCP Athletics is 'To Prepare Champions,'" Kenney said. "Academic performance is the most important area for a student athlete to excel in."

"I am very proud of our head coaches, assistant coaches and support staff for positively influencing and encouraging excellent academic performance from their respective teams," he said.

The University of North Florida led the way once again with a record 122 student-athletes on the list, the fourth time the school has had 100 or more members onthe Honor Roll. Francis Marion was second with 67 while USC Aiken was third with 64.

UNC Pembroke tallied 62, the second-highest total in school history. The Braves were followed by Georgia College & State University with 57, while Lander (55), Kennesaw State (53), USC Spartanburg (49), Armstrong Atlantic State (47), Augusta State (46), Clayton State (38) and Columbus State (37) rounded out the list.

In 2002-03 54 UNCP athletes qualified compared with 62 in, 2003-04:

  • Baseball: Daniel Bowers, Sandy Jacobs, Tripp Lockhart, Nick Hoffman and Chris Beck;
  • Men's Basketball: Arne Danielson;
  • Women's Basketball: Lindsay Bartholf, Lauren Lingenfelter, Koral Stache, Mallory Wegmann and Tiffany Wright;
  • Men's Cross Country/Track: Jeriah Griswold, Chris Harris, Jeff Moody, Shawn Sledge and Brandon Twiford;
  • Women's Cross Country/Track: Shannon Hauck, Barbara Jacobson, Chika Okonkwo and Terria Sinclair;
  • Men's Golf: Tommy Baker, Greg Brooks, Greg Dobbins, Ted Gudeman, John Kassabian, Robert McKinney and Lee Nejberger;
  • Men's Soccer: Sascha Gorres, Christian Kucklick, Thomas Lindal, Tom Martin, Arthur Mellors, Rafael Parra Roman, Jose Sanchez and Michael Zindros;
  • Women's Soccer: Jackie Bower, Lefke Boysen, Jamie Clarke, Nicole Denman, Kelly Jones, Lauran Meadows, Erin Rowley, Brenna Russick and Katie Stokes;
  • Softball: Lauryn Blandford, Amanda Busch, Dana Evans, Khrystal Holder, Brookes Musser, Danielle Peters and Meredith Veglia
  • Women's Tennis: Natalie Dies and Abi French;
  • Volleyball: Corey Marks;
  • Wrestling: Matt Anglin, Kyle Devlin, Norlan Graves, Geoffrey Lawrence, David Nobles, Lewis Polley, Jermaine Thomas and Josh Woodruff.