Percussion

UNCP Percussion Department

Welcome to the percussion department website for the University of North Carolina at Pembroke. Here you will find the answers to any questions you might have regarding percussion studies at UNCP. We are a growing department with exciting new things occurring every year. UNCP offers a bachelor's degree in music. Students at UNCP can choose to major in either classical percussion or drumset! If you have any additional questions please feel free to contact Joseph Van Hassel at 910.522.5705 or joseph.vanhassel@uncp.edu. You can also visit us on Facebook at UNCP Percussion Studio.

2019-20 Audition Dates:

November 23, 2019

February 8, 2020

March 21, 2020

April 18, 2020

More UNCP Percussion on Youtube

Also, here: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwo5N3-Fj0zl8MW04MRZfpg 

Upcoming Events (2019-2020)

All Events Occur in Moore Hall Auditorium at 7:30 PM Unless Otherwise Indicated

  • Friday, August 23: Dr. Jonathan Wacker, drumset clinic, 2:30 PM, Moore Hall Band Room
  • Thursday, October 10: Dr. Mark Tollefsen, faculty piano recital (with Dr. Joseph Van Hassel)
  • Tuesday, October 15: Dr. Joshua Smith, percussion clinic, 5:30 PM, Moore Hall Band Room
  • Saturday, November 2: UNCP Percussion Ensemble Concert
  • Tuesday, November 5: Simone Canute, senior recital
  • Friday, November 22: UNCP Holiday Extravaganza, 8:00 PM, Givens Performing Arts Center
  • Tuesday, February 25: The Percussion Music of Takayoshi Yoshioka, Concert 1
  • Wednesday, February 26: The Percussion Music of Takayoshi Yoshioka, Concert 2
  • Friday, February 28: James Culley, Daniel McCloud, and Benjamin Toth, percussion guest artists recital
  • Tuesday, April 7: UNCP Percussion Ensemble Concert
  • Thursday, April 16: Noah Anderson, senior recital
  • Wednesday, May 6: UNCP Marching Band Drumline Auditions, 6:00-8:00 PM, Moore Hall Band Room