Recent Award Winners from the History Department



The Department of History congratulates Dr. Jeff Frederick for being honored with one of the UNCP Outstanding Teaching Awards of 2016.  He teaches a wide variety of undergraduate and graduate courses, including ones on the American South, American politics, the sports in US history, and the Civil Rights Movement. This is the second time that Dr. Frederick has received this honor. Dr. Frederick was also honored at the third annual Golden Braves Awards ceremony. He was named the recipient of the inaugural \"Changing Lives Through Education\" Award.

Past Award Winners from the History Department

UNC Board of Governors Teaching Award

Dr. Weston Cook (2014)
Dr. Robert Brown (2006)

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Awards

Dr. Ryan Anderson (2010)
Dr. Charles Beem (2006, 2015)
Dr. Scott Billingsley (2007)
Dr. Robert Brown (1997, 2003)
Dr. Weston Cook (2000, 2009, 2013)
Dr. Bruce DeHart (1999, 2007)
Dr. Jeff Frederick (2006, 2016)
Dr. Kathleen Hilton (1998)
Dr. Jeff Lucas (2010)
Dr. Jaime Martinez (2013)
Dr. Rose Stremlau (2009)
Dr. Mark Thompson (2002, 2008)

UNCP Adolf Dial Awards

Dr. Charles Beem (Scholarship/Creative Work, 2008)
Dr. Weston Cook (Community Service, 2003)
Dr. Rose Stremlau (Scholarship/Creative Work, 2013)

UNCP Staff Awards

Ms. Janet Gentes (UNCP Star Employee, 2013)