• weather Alert ✖CLOSE

    Due to winter weather, the university will operate on condition 2—suspended operations—until 11 a.m. Thursday, January 18. The university will operate on condition 1--reduced operations--from 11 a.m. until 5 p.m. Thursday. More information can be found at: uncp.edu/news/winter-weather-wednesday-january-17


Chancellor Search
Chancellor Search
UNCP Home Chancellor Search Chancellor Search Committee
  • A
  • A

Chancellor Search Committee

The search committee is comprised of:

Board of Trustees Representatives
Dr. Wiley Barrett

Dr. Wiley Barrett,Southern Pines, NC - Chairman

Dr. Barrett is a retired educator with over 30 years’ experience. He serves on the UNCP Endowment Board and is chair of the Board of Trustees. He graduated from UNCP with a Bachelor of Science degree and earned his doctorate in education from Campbell University.

Kellie Hunt Blue

Mrs. Kellie H. Blue, Pembroke, NC

Kellie Hunt Blue is the finance director of Robeson County. She has served on numerous civic boards and is currently secretary of the UNCP Board of Trustees. Mrs. Blue studied accounting at UNCP and the Institute of Government at UNC-Chapel Hill. She previously served on the 2009 Chancellor Search Committee.

James Jones

Dr. James "Jim" Jones, Hampstead, NC

Dr. Jones is a retired physician and professor emeritus at the UNC and East Carolina University schools of medicine. Dr. Jones served in the US Navy after graduating from Wake Forest and the Wake Forest School of Medicine, the first Native American to do either.

Don Metzger

Mr. Don Metzger, Lumberton, NC

Mr. Metzger is a retired business owner, having worked several decades as an engineer and consultant in construction. He serves on several community boards, as well as the Lumberton City Council. He received a Bachelor of Science in civil engineering and a masters in construction management from the University of Missouri.

Dwight Pearson

Dr. Dwight Pearson, Garner, NC

Dr. Pearson is a retired educator who is now an independent educational consultant. He previously served on the 2009 Chancellor Search Committee. Dr. Pearson earned a Bachelor of Arts in sociology and a Master of Arts in education from UNCP. He earned an education specialist degree from Winthrop University and Ph.D. from NC State University.

Lorna Ricotta

Mrs. Lorna Ricotta, Fayetteville, NC

Lorna Ricotta is a business owner and vice chair of the UNCP Board of Trustees. She is active in various community organizations and serves as executive director of the Fayetteville Technical Community College Foundation, Inc. Mrs. Ricotta earned a Bachelor of Music and a Master of Business Administration from UNCP.


Student Government Association Representative
Photo Unavailable

Mr. Biruk "BK" Kassaw, Washington, DC

Mr. Kassaw is president of the UNCP Student Government Association and serves as student representative on the Board of Trustees. He is a senior majoring in business management and finance, with minors in international business and political science.


Faculty Representatives
Photo Unavailable

Dr. Ben Bahr, Lake Waccamaw, NC

Dr. Bahr is the William C. Friday Chair and professor in UNCP’s biology and chemistry and physics departments. He has received the Gov. Holshouser Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Service for Alzheimer’s awareness and the CUR Outstanding Mentor Award. Dr. Bahr holds a Ph.D. in chemistry from UC Santa Barbara.

Photo Unavailable

Dr. Valjeaner Ford, Fayetteville, NC

Dr. Ford is a professor in UNCP’s School of Education and the Praxis liaison. She is an author and researcher and has served on several state and national education boards, including the NC Association of Colleges and Teacher Educators. Dr. Ford received a doctorate in education from Fayetteville State University.

Photo Unavailable

Dr. Angela McDonald, Wagram, NC

Dr. McDonald is chair and associate professor of UNCP’s Department of Educational Leadership and Counseling. She has been a nationally certified counselor since 2005 and is a member of the NC Board of Licensed Professional Counselors. Dr. McDonald received her Ph.D. in counselor education and supervision from the College of William and Mary.

Photo Unavailable

Dr. Xinyan Shi, Whispering Pines, NC

Dr. Shi is an associate professor of economics in UNCP’s School of Business, specializing in game theory and its application in various fields. She has served on many community boards and university committees, including Faculty Senate. She has also led several business consulting projects in Moore County. Dr. Shi received her Ph.D. in economics from UNC Chapel Hill.

Photo Unavailable

Dr. Richard Vela, Lumberton, NC

Dr. Vela is a professor in UNCP’s Department of English, Theatre and Foreign Languages. He has received numerous awards, including the UNC Board of Governors Award for Teaching Excellence, and chairs the Shakespeare on Film and Television Area of the National Popular Culture Association. Dr. Vela earned a Ph.D. from UNC Chapel Hill.


Staff Representatives
Photo Unavailable

Mr. Terry Locklear, Pembroke, NC

Mr. Locklear is a technology support analyst for the Office of Distance Education at UNCP. He is chair of Staff Council and sits on the Executive Committee of the UNC Staff Assembly. Mr. Locklear earned a B.A. in American Indian studies from UNCP and an M.S. in instructional technology from East Carolina University.

Photo Unavailable

Dr. Lisa Schaeffer, Fairmont, NC

Dr. Schaeffer has served UNCP since 1984 in a number of roles. She is currently associate vice chancellor for student affairs. Dr. Schaeffer received the James B. Chavis UNCP Student Affairs Award and was named a distinguished alumna at Campbell University, where she earned her Ed.D. in education administration.


UNC Pembroke Alumnus
Photo Unavailable

Mr. Larry Chavis, Lumberton, NC

Mr. Chavis is president and CEO of Lumbee Guaranty Bank. He has been a member of several boards including the NC Banking Commission and UNCP Endowment Board. Mr. Chavis has also been named a UNCP Distinguished Alumni. He is a graduate of UNCP with a B.S. in accounting and an MBA from Campbell University.


External (Community) Representatives
Photo Unavailable

Mr. Dallas "Mac" Campbell, Elizabethtown, NC

Mr. Campbell is the owner of Campbell Oil Company and 21 Minuteman Food Marts. He has previously served on the UNCP Board of Trustees, the Football Advisory Committee and as president of UNCP Foundation, Inc. Mr. Campbell has received many awards, including the Order of the Long Leaf Pine. He earned a B.S. in business administration from UNCP.

Photo Unavailable

Ms. Arlinda Locklear, Washington, DC

Ms. Locklear is an attorney, former UNCP trustee and Pembroke native who has spent much of her career representing Native American tribes. In 1984 she became the first Native American woman to argue a case before the US Supreme Court. Ms. Locklear earned her B.A. from the College of Charleston and law degree from Duke University.

Aaron Thomas

Mr. Aaron Thomas, Pembroke, NC

Mr. Thomas is president and CEO of Metcon, Inc., a general contracting and construction management firm. He has served as president of the UNCP Alumni Association and vice president of the Thomas Family Center. Mr. Thomas was named to the Fayetteville Observer 40 Under 40 list and awarded the US Minority Contractor of the Year. He earned a bachelor of science from UNCP and Master of Construction Management from East Carolina.


UNC Pembroke Foundation, Inc. Representative
Photo Unavailable

Mr. Darrell Johnson, Wilmington, NC

Mr. Johnson is a retired deputy director of the NC State Employment Service. He has served UNCP as chairman of the Foundation Board and as president of the Alumni Association. Mr. Johnson is a graduate of UNCP, earning a B.S. in business administration.