Important Updates about COVID-19

Read more about UNCP's response to COVID-19.

Social Justice Committee


Encouraging people to discuss and analyze actions that can eliminate social inequality, not limited to race, gender, education, and rights of individuals. Additionally the committee discusses social justice within communities and the nation as a whole, while seeking to improve dialogue.

More importantly the committee is responsible for developing an annual symposium that empowers individuals to be self-determined, while empowering and challenging others to come together in building a solid foundation for the greater society.

Committee Composition

Dr. Brooke Kelly- Sociology
Dr. Frankie Denise Powell – Education
Mr. Virgil Oxendine – Lumbee Regional Development Association
Dr. Mary Ann Jacobs – American Indian Studies
Dr. Michele Fazio – Literature
Ms. Brittany Sandefur – Advancement
Professor Sailaja Vallabha – Chemistry
Dr. Autumn Lauzon – Literature
Professor Hannah Baggott – Literature
Ms. Lisa Gonzalez Bullard – Student Inclusion and Diversity
Dr. Robert L. Canida, II – Mary Livermore Library


The committee meets (either in the Multicultural Center or via email) as needed in order to plan and execute the Annual Social Justice Symposium and other social justice issues.