Advisory Council

About the Literacy Commons’ Advisory Council

The Council is lead by Director Jeff Warren. This council consists of five faculty, five UNCP students, two UNCP staff, and three community members. It is our belief that such a council should have a fair voice that represents the various levels of the university and the students—as well as our local community. 

Advisory Council’s Mission Statement

To listen to, nurture, promote, and shape the vision and progression of the many voices involved with the Literacy Commons.

Below is a concise list of the Council’s members. If you are interested in being part of the council, contact Jeff Warren. 


Dr. Jeffrey M. Warren, Director, Literacy Commons/Associate Professor of School Counseling

Chair, Educational Leadership & Counseling

Office: #317 Education Center 

Phone: (910)-775-4414 Email:


UNCP Students 

Brandi Guffey '17
Major:  Biology (Zoolog)

Community Members


UNCP Staff

Dr. Nicolette Campos, Acting Director, Accessibility Resource Center

Office:   D.F. Lowry Building, Room 107

Phone: 910.521.6695   Email:


UNCP Faculty

Mark Milewicz, Dean of the Esther G. Maynor Honors College, University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Office:  Hickory Hall Pembroke, N.C. 28372

Phone:  (910) 521-6630


Laura Staal, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Educational Specialties, School of Education, University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Office:  338C Education Center Pembroke, N.C. 28372

Phone:  (910) 775-4387 Email:


Dr. Mable O. Rivera, Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Specialties

Office:  Education Center, Room 133

Phone: (910) 775-4415 Email:


Keondra Mitchell, M.B.A., Executive in Residence for Student Success School of Business

118 Business Administration Bldg.

Phone:  (910) 522-5789 Email: