***Spring 2019 Readmission Deadline is November 1***
Undergraduate students who have interrupted their course of study for at least two semesters, or who have finished serving an academic suspension of any length, must apply for readmission in order to come back to UNCP.
Your failure to provide complete, accurate, and truthful information on this application will be grounds to deny or withdraw your admission, or dismiss you after enrollment. By signing this application, you are granting permission for a criminal background check if deemed necessary. Please note there is a $25.00 readmission fee that must be paid prior to processing your application.
New North Carolina Residency Information
In compliance with state law, the University of North Carolina system now requires students to request a residency classification from the new Residency Determination Service (RDS). RDS is the entity responsible for all new classifications of residency in North Carolina.
The specific requirements for establishing residency for tuition purposes and for eligibility for State financial aid are prescribed by state law. A North Carolina resident for tuition purposes (and for State financial aid consideration) is a person, or a dependent person (dependent according to IRS tax code – not the FAFSA definition of dependency), whose parent or legal guardian has established and maintained legal residence in North Carolina for at least 12 months.
Residence in North Carolina must be legitimate and be a permanent situation rather than just for the purpose of maintaining a residence prior to enrollment at an institution of higher education.
Under North Carolina law, to qualify for in-state residency, you must show that you:
- Have established your legal residence (domicile) in North Carolina, and
- Have maintained that domicile for at least twelve (12) consecutive months before the beginning of the term, and
- Have a residentiary presence in the state, and
- Intend to make North Carolina your permanent home indefinitely (rather than being in North Carolina solely to attend college)
Persons not meeting the 12-month legal residence requirement may be classified as North Carolina residents for tuition purposes only if they fall within one of the limited “exception” categories authorized by the North Carolina Legislature. All others are ineligible for classification as a North Carolina “resident for tuition purposes” and will be charged out-of-state tuition and not be given consideration for State financial aid. To learn more about residency and complete a determination go to Residency Determination Service (RDS) at www.ncresidency.org.
The Campus Fire Safety Right-to-Know Act was signed into law on August 14, 2008. This legislation requires colleges and universities to report fire safety information related to on-campus residence halls. View our Annual Security and Fire Safety Report.