Sociology and Criminal Justice
Sociology and Criminal Justice

Faculty and Staff - Your Partners in Success

Mario PaparozziMario A. Paparozzi, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor
Phone: 910.522.5783
Email:  mario.paparozzi@uncp.edu
Office: 202 Sampson

Office Hours: Fall 2016 - Mon/Tues/Thurs, 8:00 - 12:00 pm, & by appointment
Specialty areas: Probation and Parole, Community Corrections, Criminology

Shannon MaynorShannon J. Maynor

Administrative Support Associate
Phone: 910.521.6380
Email:  shannon.maynor@uncp.edu
Office: 201 Sampson

 

Jessica AbbottJessica Abbott, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Gender Studies Minor Coordinator
Email:  jessica.abbott@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775-4259
Office: 222 Sampson
Office Hours:  Fall 2016 - M/W, 10:00 - 12:00 pm; F, 11:00 - 12:00, & by appointment
Specialty Areas:  Criminology, Victimology, Fear of Crime, Gender, and Quantitative Methods

 

Yawo A. Bessa, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Email:  yawo.bessa@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521-6477
Office: 218 Sampson

Office Hours: Fall 2016 - Tues, 3:00-4:00 pm; Wed, 11:30 - 12:30 pm; Thurs, 1:00 - 4:00 pm, & by appointment
Specialty Areas:  Sociology of Health/Mental Health, Sociological Theory, Delinquency/Deviance, Gerontology, & Family

 

Heath Dingwell, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Phone: 910.521.6626
Email:  heath.dingwell@uncp.edu
Office: 219 Sampson

Office Hours: Fall 2016 - MWF, 9:45 - 11:00 am, 12:30 - 1:00 pm, & by appointment
Specialty Areas:

 

Calvina EllerbeCalvina Ellerbe, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Phone: 910.521.6541
Email:  calvina.ellerbe@uncp.edu
Office: 217 Sampson

Office Hours: Fall 2016 - MWF, 9:00 - 10:05 am, 1:15 - 2:15 pm, & by appointment
Specialty areas: Demography, Marriage and Family, Race and Ethnicity

 

Jessica GodseyJessica Godsey, J.D.

Lecturer 
Phone: 910.521.6574
Email:  jessica.godsey@uncp.edu
Office: 209 Sampson

Office hours: Fall 2016 - Tues/Thurs, 2:00 - 4:00 pm; W, 10:00 - 12:30 pm, & by appointment
Specialty areas: Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Family Violence

 

Roger GuyRoger Guy, Ph.D.

Professor
Phone: 910.775.4273
Email:  roger.guy@uncp.edu
Office: 208 Sampson

Office hours: Fall 2016 - Tues/Thurs, 7:00-8:00 am, 9:30 - 11:00 am, & by appointment

DARS Audit Instructions

 

 

Sonali Jain

Sonali Jain, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor 
Phone: 910.521.6474
Email:  sjain@uncp.edu
Office: 211 Sampson

Office hours: Fall 2016 - MWF, 9:30 -10:00 am, 11:00-12:10 pm, & by appointment
Specialty areas: Globalization, Asia, Qualitative Methods

 

Brooke Kelly

E. Brooke Kelly, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Phone: 910.775.4038
Email:  brooke.kelly@uncp.edu
Office: 212 Sampson

Office Hours:  Fall 2016 - MW, 9:30 -10:00 am, 11:10 -12:10 pm; F, 10:00 - 11:00 am, & by appointment
Specialty areas: Inequalities, Gender, Family, Work, and Poverty

 

Renee Lamphere

Renee Lamphere, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Phone: 910.775.4084
Email:  renee.lamphere@uncp.edu
Office: 213 Sampson

Office Hours:  Fall 2016 - M/F, 11:00 - 12:00 pm; W, 11:00 - 12:00 pm, 2:30 - 4:30 pm, & by appointment
Specialty areas: Corrections, Digital Media Crime, Juvenile Delinquency, Violence & Victimology, Mixed-Methods Research

 

J. Porter Lillis

J. Porter Lillis, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Phone: 910.521.6473
Email:  john.lillis@uncp.edu
Office: 220 Sampson

Office Hours:  Fall 2016 - M/W/F, 12:30 - 2:30 pm, & by appointment
Specialty areas:  Medical Sociology & Gerontology

 

Bob M

Robert S. McDonnell, MPA

Lecturer
Phone: 910.521.6232
Email:  robert.mcdonnell@uncp.edu
Office: 215 Sampson

Office Hours: Fall 2016 - Tues/Thurs, 10:45 am - 11:45 am; W, 8:30 am - 12:30 pm, & by appointment
Specialty areas: Terrorism Studies, Criminal Investigation, Criminal Procedure, Criminal Justice Leadership, Investigative Information Management, International Law Enforcement
 

Ottis Murray

Ottis Murray, Ed.D

Professor
Phone: 910.521.6821
Email:  ottis.murray@uncp.edu
Office: 214 Sampson

Office Hours:  Fall 2016 - M/W/F, 10:00 - 11:00 am; Tues/Thurs, 8:30 - 9:30 am, & by appointment
Specialty areas: Collective Behavior and Social Movements, Popular Culture, Death and Dying, Computer/Technology & Society
 

Sam Pearson

Sam Pearson, Ph.D.

Lecturer 
Email:  sam.pearson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6885
Office: 207 Sampson

Office Hours:  Fall 2016 -Tues/Thurs, 10:00 - 11:00 am, 1:00 - 2:00 pm, 3:30 - 4:30 pm, & by appointment
Specialty areas: Criminology, Private Security, Community Policing, Criminal Investigation, Criminal Justice Administration and Management 

 

James Robinson

 E. Miranda Reiter, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Email:  miranda.reiter@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6475
Office: 221 Sampson

 

Office Hours:  Fall 2016 - Wed/Fri, 10:00 - 11:00 am; Thurs, 11:00 - 2:00 pm, & by appointment
Specialty areas:  Social Epedemiology, Demography, and Health Disparities

 

James Robinson

James W. Robinson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Director of the UNCP Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies Degree Program 
Email:  james.robinson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5785
Office: 216 Sampson

Office Hours: Fall 2016 -MWF, 11:15-1:15 pm, & by appointment
Specialty areas: Theory, Social Psychology, Social Inequality, Organizations, Research Methods, Statistics 
 

Michael Spivey

Michael Spivey, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Phone: 910.521.6776
Email:  michael.spivey@uncp.edu
Office: 210 Sampson

Office Hours:  Fall 2016 - M/W, 11:00 - 12:00, 1:00 - 2:00 pm; F, 11:00 - 12:00 pm, & by appointment
Specialty areas: Social Inequality, Native American Studies, Critical Theory/Cultural Studies, Ethnography 

 

Adjunct Faculty

Angelia Adams (angelia.adams@uncp.edu)
Robert Baker (robert.baker@uncp.edu)
R. Travis Bryant (travis.bryant@uncp.edu)
Marda Godsey (marda.godsey@uncp.edu)
Omeed Ilchi (omeed.ilchi@uncp.edu)
Andrzej Jachimczyk (andrzej.jachimczyk@uncp.edu)
Rudy Locklear (rudy.locklear@uncp.edu)
Stephen Marson (steve.marson@uncp.edu)
Jesse McQueen (jesse.mcqueen@uncp.edu)
Judith Paparozzi (judith.paparozzi@uncp.edu)
Rasby M. Powell (rasby.powell@uncp.edu)
Neilson Weatherly (neilson.weatherly@uncp.edu)