Nursing

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Barbara B. Synowiez, PhD, MSN, RN 

Department Chair
Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 340J 
Phone: 910.521.6522
Email: barbara.synowiez@uncp.edu
Schedule appointments with Mary Baynes at 910-521-6522                                 

Joyce Beard

Joyce M. Beard, MSN, PHCNS-BC, NCSN, RN 

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 325 
Phone: 910.775.4308
Email: joyce.beard@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  M 4:15-6:15 PM; T 9:00-11:00 AM; W 4:15-5:15 PM

Cherry Maynor Beasley, PhD, MS, FNP, RN 

Associate Professor, RN-BSN Coordinator
Health Sciences Building; Office 301 
Phone: 910.521.6524 
Email: cherry.beasley@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  M 4:00-6:00 PM; T 1:30-3:30 PM; Th 8:00-9:00 AM; Th Afternoon by appointsment only 

Dena Evans

Dena B. Evans, EdD, MPH, BSN, RN, CNE, CNL

Associate Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 323 
Phone: 910.521.6653
Email: dena.evans@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  M 12:15-1:15 PM, 4:15-5:30 PM; W 12:15-1:15 PM, 4:15-5:30 PM

Jennifer Johnson

Jennifer L. Johnson, DNP, MSN, WHNP-BC, RN 

Director of Undergraduate Programs, Assistant Professor 
Health Sciences Building; Office 340K 
Phone: 910.521.6787
Email: jennifer.johnson@uncp.edu
Office Hours: M 10:00 AM-12:00 PM; T 10:00 AM-12:00 PM; Th 11:00 AM-12:00 PM

Jennifer Locklear

Jennifer Jones-Locklear, MSN/Ed., RN 

Clinical Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 318 
Phone: 910.775.4162
Email: jennifer.jones-locklear@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  M 12:15-1:15 PM and 4:15-5:45 PM; W 12:00-1:00 PM and 4:15-5:45 PM; F By appointment only

Kate KemplinKate Rocklein Kemplin, DNP, RN, CCEMTP

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 314
Phone: 910.521.4145
Email: katharine.rocklein@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  M 3:00-4:00 PM; W 11:00 AM-12:00 PM and 1:00-3:00 PM; F 7:00-8:00 PM

Debbie Locklear, MSN, RN

Clinical Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 308
Phone:  910.775.4536
Email:  debbiec.locklear@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  M 4:30-5:30PM (FIRSTHEALTH MOORE REGIONAL HOSPITAL); T 11:30 am-1:30 PM; Th 12:00-1:00pm & 4:30-5:30 PM

Astrid Oviedo

Astrid Oviedo

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 329
Phone: 910.521.6739
Email: astrid.oviedo@uncp.edu
Office Hours: M 12:00-2:00 PM; T 6:30-7:30 PM; W 12:00-2:00 PM

Joyce Stanley

Joyce D. Stanley, MSN/CNS, RN 

Assistant Professor, LEC Coordinator
Health Sciences Building; Office 257B 
Phone: 910.775.4141
Email: joyce.stanley@uncp.edu
Office Hours: M 3:00-5:00 PM; W 3:00-5:00 PM; Th 8:00-9:00 AM

Misty Stone, MSN, RN

Clinical Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 326
Phone: 910.775.4164
Email: misty.stone@uncp.edu
Office Hours: M 4:30-5:30 PM (Clinical time); T 10:00 AM-12:00 PM; Th 11:00 AM-1:00PM

John Toth

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 331
Phone:  910.775.4406
Email:  john.toth@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  T 7:00-8:00 PM; Th 1:00-4:00 PM; F 7:00-8:00 PM

Jennifer Twaddell

Jennifer W. Twaddell PhD, MSN, RN 

Director of Graduate Programs
Assistant Professor
SouthCentral RIBN Collaborative Coordinator
Health Sciences Building; Office 340L
Phone: 910.775.4142
Email: jennifer.twaddell@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  T 11:00 AM-1:00 PM; W 4:30-5:30 PM at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center; Th 11:00 AM-1:00 PM

Tiffany Tyson

Tiffany Tyson, DNP, MSN, FNP-BC 

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 317
Phone: 910-775-4535
Email: tiffany.tyson@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  M 4:15-5:45 PM; T 3:00-5:00 PM

 

         

Staff

Mary Baynes

Mary Baynes

Administrative Support Associate 
Health Sciences Building; Office 340A 
Phone: 910.775.4447
Email: mary.baynes@uncp.edu

 

James Crouch

James Crouch, BS

RIBN Student Success Advocate
Health Sciences Building; Office 340B
Phone: 910.775.4146
Email: james.crouch@uncp.edu

 

Michael Lowry

Michael Lowry, MA, BS

RN-BSN Student Success Advocate
Health Sciences Building; Office 330
Phone: 910.521.6747
Email: michael.lowry@uncp.edu