Educational Leadership and Counseling
Educational Leadership and Counseling
UNCP Home Academics at UNCP Colleges, Schools & Departments Departments Department of Educational Leadership and Counseling
  • A
  • A

Department of Educational Leadership and Counseling

The Department of Educational Leadership and Counseling serves over 240 graduate students and includes 14 full-time faculty members. The faculty members are active teacher-scholars holding leadership positions within their professional associations, presenting and publishing widely in their disciplines, and regularly providing service to the community. The faculty in the department collaborate to provide three conferences annually: the SOAR! Conference on regional k-16 student success, the Leadership Conference, and the Drive-in Workshop for Counselors. Coursework in the department is delivered using face to face instruction, online instruction, and hybrid blended learning modalities. The programs are designed to accommodate working students. Additionally, for full time students, six graduate assistantships are available within the department.

  • Educational Leadership Program

    The ELC department offers a Master’s degree in School Administration. The School Administration program faculty are leaders in North Carolina public education, and graduates of the program have gone on to be school leaders throughout North Carolina. The School Executive MSA program is designed for professionals in education who seek exceptional opportunities for leadership development, professional networking, and learning the knowledge base and latest advancements in education – all in an accommodating format to meet the challenging professional and personal schedules of educators. The ELC department also offers a MSA Add-on program that requires only 21 hours of credit including a year-long Internship.  The Add-on program is designed for those already possessing a Master's Degree in a subject area and significant experience in education. The MSA progam has numerous partnerships in the region to promote excellence in Educational Leadership:

    • Annual Leadership Conference
    • Aspiring Leader Academies in regional school districts
    • Professional development offered to 14 public school systems through the Sandhills Region Education Consortium
    • Partnerships with East Carolina University to offer Doctorate of Education (EdD) cohort programs for local school leaders.
  • Counseling Programs

    The ELC department offers two graduate counseling programs: Clinical Mental Health Counseling and Professional School Counseling. Both programs are CACREP accredited, meeting the highest national standards for counselor preparation. Students in the counseling programs frequently present, publish, and collaborate on research with their faculty members. Students have received external funding to support their conference travel and research projects.

Department Chair

Dr. Jeffrey M. Warren  Dr. Jeffrey M. Warren, LPCS, NCC, NCSC
  Associate Professor, Professional School Counseling 
  Office: Education Center, Room 317 
  Phone: 910.775.4414


Administrative Assistant

 Audria CummingsAudria Cummings 
 Office: Education Center, Room 117
 Phone: 910.521.6221


Department Faculty

Audria Cummings

  Whitney Akers
Office: Education Center, Room 344
  Phone: 910.775.4293


  Dr. Alfred Bryant, Jr., LPC
Professor, Professional School Counseling
  Dean, School of Education
  Office: Education Center, Room 112
  Phone: 910.775.4009

  Dr. Ki Chae - Counseling ProgramsDr. Ki Chae, NCC
  Program Director, Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Assistant Professor
  Office: Education Center, Room 315
  Phone: 910.521.6753
  Associate Professor, School Administration 
  Office: Education Center, Room 206
  Phone: 910.521.6449
  Dr. Charles Jenkins
  Professor, School Administration
  Office: Education Center, Room 116
  Phone: 910.521.6323

Dr. Shenika Jones  Dr. Shenika Jones, LPCA
  Program Director, Professional School Counseling
  Assistant Professor
  Office: Education Center, Room 345
  Phone: 910.521.6354

Dr. Gary Mauk - Counseling Programs  Dr. Gary W. Mauk, NCSP
  Associate Professor, Professional School Counseling 
  Office: Education Center, Room 306
  Phone: 910.775.4295
Dr. Angela McDonald  Dr. Angela McDonald, PhD, LPCS, NCC Safe Zone
  Associate Dean, School of Education
  Assoc. Professor, Clinical Mental Health Counseling
  Office: Education Center 118
  Phone: 910.521.6511
  Dr. Olivia Oxendine - School AdministrationDr. Olivia Oxendine
  Associate Professor, School Administration
  Office: Education Center, Room 313
  Phone: 910.521.6894
Dr. Jonathan Ricks
  Dr. Jonathan Ricks, NCC, LPC
  Assistant Professor, Professional School Counseling
  Office: Education Center, Room 338-B
  Phone: 910.775.4041
Dr. Nicole Stargell  Dr. Nicole Stargell, LPCA, LSC, NCC Safe Zone
  Field Placement and Testing Coordinator
  Assist. Professor, Clinical Mental Health Counseling
  Office: Education Center, Room 320
  Phone: 910.521.6898
Audria Cummings  Dana Unger
  Office: Education Center, Room 341
  Phone: 910.775.4294
  Dr. Mary Whitfield-WilliamsDr. Mary Whitfield-Williams, LPC, CCMHC, ACS, LCAS-A
  Assistant Professor, Clincal Mental Health Counseling
  Office: Education Center Room 346
  Phone: 910.521.6663

UNCP's Teacher Education Program is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE).  Each undergraduate and graduate teacher education program area offered by UNCP is approved by the NC State Board of Education.  Additionally, the Clinical Mental Health Counseling and Professional School Counseling graduate programs are accreditated by the Council for the Accreditation of Counselors and Related Education Programs.