• campus Alert ✖CLOSE


    Yesterday evening Piedmont Natural Gas disconnected natural gas service to main campus in order prevent potential hazards. As of this morning, gas service has not been restored. Utility crews are working continuously to repair the segment and restore service as soon as possible.

    It is important to know faculty, staff, students and visitors on campus are not in immediate danger because of any potential gs leaks. The disruption in service may affect some campus activity throughout the day, including dining services. Dining facilities are working to bring in the necessary resources to provide limited hot meal options. We appreciate your patience and will update you as additional information becomes available.


Former Chancellors

Kyle Carter

Dr. Kyle R. Carter

Chancellor (2010-2015)

Bachelor of Arts in psychology from Mercer University, a Master of Arts in educational psychology, and a Ph.D. in educational psychology



Charles JenkinsCharles R. Jenkins

Interim Chancellor (2009 - 2010)

B.S., M.A.Ed., East Carolina University; Ed.D., Duke University




Allen MeadorsAllen C. Meadors

Chancellor (1999 - 2009); Chancellor Emeritus (2009 - present)

B.B.A, University of Central Arkansas; M.B.A., University of Northern Colorado; M.P.A., University of Kansas; M.A., M.A., Webster University; Ph.D., Southern Illinois University; FACHE


Joseph OxendineJoseph B. Oxendine

Chancellor (1989 - 1999); Chancellor Emeritus (1999 - present)

B.A., Catawba College; M.Ed., Ed.D., Boston University



Paul GivensPaul R. Givens

Chancellor (1979 - 1989); Chancellor Emeritus (1989 - 2004)

B.A., M.A., George Peabody College; Ph.D., Vanderbilt University



English JonesEnglish E. Jones

President (1962 - 1972); Chancellor (1972 - 1979); Chancellor Emeritus (1979 - 1981)

B.S., University of Kentucky; M.S., North Carolina State University; LL.D., Wake Forest University; D.H. The University of North Carolina at Pembroke


Walter GaleWalter J. Gale

President (1956 - 1962)

B.S., New Jersey State Teachers College; M. Ed., Ed.D., Duke University




Ralph WellonsRalph D. Wellons

President (1942 - 1956)

A.B., M.A., Indiana University; Ph.D., Teachers College, Columbia University



O.H. BrowneO.H. (Owens Hand) Browne

Acting President (1940 - 1942)

B.S., North Carolina State University; Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University






Superintendents and Presidents

G.G. Maughon, Superintendent, 1935-1940
J.E. Sawyer, Superintendent, 1929-1935
S.B. Smithey, Principal, 1926-1929
A.B. Riley, Principal, 1922-1926
T.C. Henderson, Principal, 1918-1922
H.A. Neal, Principal, 1914-1918
O.V. Hamrick, Principal, 1912-1914
H. (Henry) L. Edens, Principal, 1908-1912
T.M. Seawell, Principal, 1906-1908
Rev. D.F. (Doctor Fuller) Lowry, Principal, 1906 (completed Clark's term)
M.E. Clark, Principal, 1905-1906
T.C. Henderson, Principal, 1900-1904
Rev. Oscar R. Sampson, Principal, 1899 (completed Jones' term)
W. Jones, Principal, 1899
J. Lamb, Principal, 1897-1898
P.B. Hiden, Principal, 1896
David Baldharrie Simpson, Principal, 1894-1896
Charles Stewart, Principal, 1891-1894
Ezra Baulder, Principal, 1890
Rev. W.L. (William Luther) Moore, Principal, 1887-1890