UNCP Home Taxonomy Term Library
  • FONT SIZE
  • A
  • A

Library

Test Contact page

Mary Livermore Library

PO Box 1510
Pembroke, NC 28372-1510

Phone: 910.521.6516
Relay: 910.521.6516 
Fax: 910.521.6547
Email: refdesk@uncp.edu

STAFF

 

Job TItle

Phone

E-mail

Dr. Dennis

Swanson

Dean of Library Services

910.521.6365

dennis.swanson@uncp.edu

Anne

Coleman

Assistant Dean for Research Services

910.521.6837

anne.coleman@uncp.edu

Michael

Alewine

Outreach/Distance Education Librarian

910.522.5743

michael.alewine@uncp.edu 

Robert

Arndt

Reference/Instructional Services Librarian

910.521.6529

robert.arndt@uncp.edu

Christopher

Bowyer

University Library Technician for Government Documents/Development & (W.I.C.)

910.521.6483

christopher.bowyer@uncp.edu

Tela

Brooks

University Library Technician for

Document Delivery/Returnables

910.521.6658

tela.brooks@uncp.edu

Eric

Chavis

University Library Technician for Circulation

910.522.5758

eric.chavis@uncp.edu

Roger

Cross

Collection Development/Serials Librarian

910.521.6696

roger.cross@uncp.edu

Carlene

Cummings

University Library Specialist for

Special Collections

910.521.6835

carlene.cummings@uncp.edu

Susan

Cummings

Cataloging Administrative Support Associate

910.521.6789

susan.cummings@uncp.edu

Carl

Danis

Electronic Resources/Technology Librarian

910.521.6876

carl.danis@uncp.edu

Vicky

Dial-Jacobs

University Library Technician for

Acquisitions Services

910.522.5733

vicky.dial@uncp.edu

Leah

Hammonds

University Library Technician for

Acquisition Services

910.521.6896

leah.hammonds@uncp.edu

Susie

Harris

University Library Technician for

Serials 

910.521.6897

susie.harris@uncp.edu

Laura

Hess

Instructional Services/Reference Librarian

910.775.4174

laura.hess@uncp.edu

Sam

Jacobs, Jr.

University Library Technician for Circulation

910.521.5742

samuel.jacobs@uncp.edu

Gwendolyn

Locklear

Executive Assistant

910.521.6212

gwen.locklear@uncp.edu

Penny

Locklear

University Library Technician for

Document Delivery/Non-returnables

910.521.6615

pennyl.locklear@uncp.edu

Sherry

Locklear

University Library Technician for

Cataloging

910.775.4170

sherry.locklear@uncp.edu

Saprina

Oxendine

University Library Specialist for

Cataloging

910.775.4227

saprina.oxendine@uncp.edu

Sondra

Oxendine

University Library Technician for

Acquisition Services

910.521.6239

sondra.oxendine@uncp.edu

June

Power

Access Services/Reference Librarian

910.521.6369

june.power@uncp.edu

David

Young

Catalog Librarian

910.521.6657

david.young@uncp.edu

Mary Livermore Library 2016 Fact Sheet

Academic Year 2015-2016

  • Total Library Budget: $2,767,630
  • Building Space: 60,000 Sq. Ft.
  • Total Library Staff: 22 (7 Librarians + 15 Support Staff)
  • Public Service Hours Per Week: 106
  • Gate Count for Fiscal: 138,683
  • Library Website Visits: 753, 031 pages views – 177,287 sessions
  • Database Usage Stats: 1,631,207 searches – 306,859 sessions
  • Books Circulated: 13,457
  • Course Reserves Transactions: 4,178
  • Media Items Loaned: 17,145
  • Materials Budget: $1,242,678
  • Total Titles Held: 481,799
  • E-book Volumes Held: 184,412
  • Units of Microform Held: 719,090
  • Total periodicals subscribed to (including electronic): 58,401
  • Audiovisual/Media Materials Held: 20,205
  • Media (Streaming Curricular) Held: 47,463 titles – 275,808 segments
  • Electronic Database Subscriptions Held: 167
  • Information Services Transactions: 12,536
  • Document Delivery Items Loaned: 5,481
  • Document Delivery Items Borrowed: 1,633
  • Library Instruction Sessions Provided: 276
  • Library Instruction Attendance: 4,577
  • Library Presentations Attendance: 1,630

This Old House: A Run for Speaker

\Charles Grandison "Charlie" Rose III

Charles Grandison "Charlie" Rose III

 

Former Congressman Charlie Rose was a North Carolina Democrat who served 12 terms in the U.S. House of Representatives (from 1973 to 1997). He became a ranking member on the House Agriculture Committee and chair of the House Administration Committee

His political influence earned him the nickname “Mayor of the Capitol” and provided a launching pad for him to run for Speaker of the House. The video “This Old House: A Run for Speaker” was produced to gain support for Rose to run for Speaker of the House for the 104th United States Congress (1995 - 1997).

The content of film was written by Lee Gipson; it was directed and edited by John Stockwell. This short film (5:51 min) was uploaded as a YouTube video on March 26, 2011.

The focal point of the film is the “Old House” that Charlie Rose grew up in in Fayetteville, North Carolina. In the film, he talks about various things from his life in the framework of this “old house.” He compares how things worked in his family and his house with the relationships among his Democratic colleagues in the House of Representatives.

Mr. Rose was unable to achieve his goal of becoming Speaker because, for first time in more than a generation, the Republicans captured the majority in the 1994 mid-term elections for the United States Congress. Rose then aimed for the job of Minority leader of the House. However, in December 1994, Mr. Rose lost decisively to Richard A. Gephardt of Missouri in the race for minority leader.

Mary Livermore Library Trials

Mary Livermore Trials in Progress

Hein Online

  • HeinOnline is an online product with more than 130 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format.
  • HeinOnline provides comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,200 law and law-related periodicals
  • Currently this trial is only available from on campus.

Statista

  • Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
  • The product is aimed at business clients and academics of any size.
  • Currently this trial is only available from on campus.

If you have any questions, evaluations, or concerns about this trial and product, please contact Roger Cross at roger.cross@uncp.edu or x6696

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Library