Givens Performing Arts Center
Givens Performing Arts Center

Distinguished Speaker Series

As of now, there are no plans to have the Distinguished Speaker Series for the 2013-14 season. Please check back for updates on future speakers.

This series is presented by Office of Student Involvement and Leadership to enhance the environment of the University and local community by engaging thought-provoking speakers in discussions on various topics of cultural, political and social importance. The series will be held in the Givens Performing Arts Center. Seating is free and open to all faculty, staff, students, and the general public. All dates and artists subject to change due to availability.

For more information, please contact the Office of Student Involvement and Leadership at 910.521.6482.

Past Distinguished Speakers

Cory Booker
Frank Warren

Erin Gruwell
Adam Beach
Judy Shepard
Hill Harper

Bill Nye
Chuck D
Valerie Plame Wilson
Sheryl Swoopes (Cancelled)
Jodie Sweetin

Arianna Huffington
Patch Adams
Lou Gossett, Jr.
Doug Flutie

Rosie Perez
Bob Woodward
Senator Bill Bradley

Nancy Grace
Mo Rocca
Nikki Giovanni 
Pat Buchanan
James Brown

Catherine Crier 
Nicholas Sparks
Tavis Smiley
Roy Firestone

Mark Russell 
Judy Woodruff
Cornel West
Dick Vitale

Soledad O'brien
Billy Mills
Dave Barry
Spike Lee

Lynne Russell
Jane Elliott
Henry Winkler  
James Earl Jones  
Rita Moreno  
Kelvin Sampson

Erin Brockovich
Ralph Nader
Dr. Maya Angelou
Sherman Alexie

Oliver North
Deborah Norville
Bruce Jenner
Julian Bond
James Carville