#### Faculty Governance Committee September 22, 2020, 3:30 p.m. Virtual - Webex

#### Minutes

**Members Present**: Cherry Beasley (vice chair), Sherry Edwards, Rebecca Gonzalez, Joseph Lakatos, Ottis Murray, Carla Rokes (secretary), Aaron Vandermeer (chair)

- I. **Call to Order** The meeting was called to order at 3:32 p.m.
- II. **Approval of the Minutes of August 25, 2020** (Appendix A in Agenda) The Minutes were approved unanimously.
- III. **Approval of the Agenda** The Agenda was approved unanimously.
- IV. Chair Report: Aaron Vandermeer The chair reported on the status of the Budget Advisory Committee and the possible need for the committee to address voting regulations for online meetings of the Faculty Senate and its committees as relates to the North Carolina Open Meetings law and the definition of a public body.
- V. Unfinished Business
- VI. New Business
  - a. Update language on election of Senate Chair pro tem (Appendix B in Agenda) The proposal was approved 7-0-0.
  - b. Reassess division representation on Faculty Senate. The committee reviewed "Systemwide Senate Construction" and discussed electoral units (division vs. department). The committee discussed ways to ensure representation was proportional across disciplines. Discussion also included election process (division vs. department) and consideration of the number of students represented/taught in each program.
  - c. Assess the authority of a department, college, or faculty body to posit statements of institutional mission, vision, and values, as the prerogative of the faculty. The Committee tabled this discussion. It will appear under Unfinished Business on the October Agenda.
  - d. Procedure for the vacancy election of a Faculty Senate Chair The committee discussed procedures related to replacing a senate chair mid-term. The committee agreed to draft a memo to the Executive Committee as appended below.

# VII. For the Good of the Order

# VIII. Announcements

# IX. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m.



#### MEMORANDUM

- To: Faculty Senate Executive Committee: Abigail Mann, Mark Tollefsen, Shenika Jones, Susan Edkins, Nathan Thomas, Robin Snead, Tamara Savage
- From: Committee on Faculty Governance: Aaron Vandermeer, Cherry Beasley, Sherry Edwards, Rebecca Gonzalez, Joseph Lakatos, Ottis Murray, Carla Rokes
- Date: September 24, 2020
- RE: Procedure for Vacancy Election of Faculty Senate Chair

Dear Members of the Executive Committee,

The Committee on Faculty Governance convened for our regularly-scheduled meeting on Tuesday, September 22. In addition to our planned business, we discussed procedures related to replacing a senate chair mid-term. The committee recognizes the lack of guidance in the *Faculty Handbook* when a Senate Chair resigns. We further appreciate the complicating issues related to COVID policy, both at the university and in the State of North Carolina.

The Committee on Faculty Governance prescribes the following procedure for the election of a new Senate Chair at the October 7, 2020 meeting of the Faculty Senate:

- The Senate shall elect from its current elected membership a Chair of the General Faculty who shall also serve as Chair of the Faculty Senate.
- The election shall be conducted under "New Business" by the Committee on Committees and Elections (CCE) using live <u>anonymous</u> balloting with controlled distribution to all Senate members. Nominations shall be allowed from the floor.
- Each member of the CCE present at the meeting must verify the results before the CCE chair announces the results.
- The newly elected senate chair will assume office immediately, presiding for the remainder of the meeting.

The Committee of Faculty Governance will provide additional counsel if a chairperson is not elected at the October meeting. Still, a permanent chair's election will remain on the Senate agenda until the office is filled. The Senate Chair pro tem remains acting chairperson until the Senate elects a new chair. We believe it is crucial to the faculty and the university's good-functioning to elect a permanent chairperson in a timely fashion.

Sincerely,

Dr. Aaron Vandermeer, DM Chair, Committee on Faculty Governance The University of North Carolina at Pembroke (910) 521-6310 — Moore Hall 139