# Faculty Governance Committee August 25, 2020 at 3:30 p.m.

WebEx Meeting - click here Access code 360 297 68

**Committee Charge:** "The Committee on Faculty Governance shall review and interpret the Faculty Constitution, the By-laws of the Faculty Senate, and rules of order for the conduct of Senate business. Changes in any of these areas that are approved by this committee will be brought, by the Committee Chair, directly to the Senate for its action."

# Agenda

Members: Cherry Beasley (vice chair, 2022), Sherry Edwards (to 2021), Rebecca Gonzalez (to 2022), Joseph Lakatos (to 2023), Ottis Murray (to 2023), Carla Rokes (to 2023), and Aaron Vandermeer (chair, to 2022)

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of the Minutes of April 8, 2020 (Appendix A)
- III. Approval of the Agenda
- IV. Election of Secretary
- V. Chair Report: Aaron Vandermeer
- VI. Unfinished Business
- VII. New Business
  - a. Possible Topics for the Faculty Governance Committee AY 20-21 (Appendix B)
- VIII. For the Good of the Order
- IX. Announcements
- X. Adjournment

## **Appendix A - Minutes Draft from April 28, 2020**

# Faculty Governance Committee April 28, 2020, 3:30 p.m. 233 University Center

Committee Charge: "The Committee on Faculty Governance shall review and interpret the Faculty Constitution, the By-laws of the Faculty Senate, and rules of order for the conduct of Senate business. Changes in any of these areas that are approved by this committee will be brought, by the Committee Chair, directly to the Senate for its action."

#### **Minutes**

**Members Present**: Sherry Edwards, Scott Hicks (chair), Ottis Murray, Frankie Denise Powell (secretary), Mabel Rivera, June Power, Michael Spivey, Cherry Beasley (vice chair) Renee Lamphere, Aaron Vandemeer

- I. The meeting was call to order at 3:35 PM.
- II. The March 2020 Minutes were approved unanimously.
- III. The April 2020 agenda was approved unanimously.
- IV. New Business
  - a. Aaron Vandermeer was elected as Chair for 2020-2021
  - b. Cherry Beasley was elected as Vice-Chair for 2020-2021
  - c. Frankie Denise Powell was elected as Secretary for 2020-2021
  - d. Each officer was elected unanimously
- V. Continuing Business None
- VI. Announcements: None
- VII. For the Good of the Order:
  - a. The committee will defer the Senate Chair discussion until August 2020
  - b. Suggested topics for new business for 2020 will include
    - 1. Apportionment of membership on university committees
    - 2. Technology issues/questions
    - 3. The value (or lack thereof) of scholarship and service at this institution
- VIII. Adjournment: 4:21 pm

### **Appendix B - Possible Topics for the Faculty Governance Committee AY 20-21**

- 1. Reassess the apportionment of representatives across divisions in Faculty Senate.
- 2. Reassess committee and subcommittee structure in faculty governance.
- 3. Assess quorum requirements for General Faculty meetings and the possibility of e-voting.
- 4. Identify the proper authority to administer non-substantial changes needed to carry out faculty evaluation (changes to electronic workflow, e.g.).
- 5. Return to discussion of election of Senate chair in time for the December meeting.
- 6. How, generally and practically speaking, will the Senate vote on items in a variety of contexts.
- 7. Assess the authority to posit statements of institutional mission, vision, and values, as the prerogative of the faculty
- 8. The good, transparent, and collaborative relationship of administration (Cabinet) and faculty (dba the Faculty Senate)