Faculty Governance Committee April 28, 2020, 3:30 p.m. 233 University Center

Committee Charge: "The Committee on Faculty Governance shall review and interpret the Faculty Constitution, the By-laws of the Faculty Senate, and rules of order for the conduct of Senate business. Changes in any of these areas that are approved by this committee will be brought, by the Committee Chair, directly to the Senate for its action."

Minutes

Members Present: Sherry Edwards, Scott Hicks (chair), Rebecca Gonzalez, Ottis Murray, Frankie Denise Powell (secretary), Mabel Rivera, June Power, Michael Spivey, Cherry Beasley (vice chair) Renee Lamphere, Aaron Vandermeer

- I. The meeting was call to order at 3:35 PM.
- II. The March 2020 Minutes were approved unanimously.
- III. The April 2020 agenda was approved unanimously.
- IV. New Business
 - a. Aaron Vandermeer was elected as Chair for 2020-2021
 - b. Cherry Beasley was elected as Vice-Chair for 2020-2021
 - c. Frankie Denise Powell was elected as Secretary for 2020-2021
 - d. Each officer was elected unanimously
- V. Continuing Business None
- VI. Announcements: None
- VII. For the Good of the Order:
 - a. The committee will defer the Senate Chair discussion until August 2020
 - b. Suggested topics for new business for 2020 will include
 - 1. Apportionment of membership on university committees
 - 2. Technology issues/questions
 - 3. The value (or lack thereof) of scholarship and service at this institution.
- VIII. Adjournment: 4:21 pm