Governance Committee of the Faculty Senate November 15, 2016 Agenda 3:30 pm Room 233 University Center

Frankie Powell	Stephen Bukowy	Jesse Peters
Cherry Beasley	Ottis Murray	Sally Vallabha
Mabel Rivera	David Nikkel	Cliff Mensah

- I. Call to Order
 - A. Selection of Secretary for 2016-2017 (Cherry Beasley)
- II. Approval of Minutes from September 20, 2016 (Appendix A)
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Report from the Chair
- V. Unfinished Business
- VI. New Business
 - A. Discussion of Academic Support Services Subcommittee / Member title

change (Appendix B)

VII.Announcements

VIII.Adjournment

Appendix A

Governance Committee of the Faculty Senate September 20, 2016 Minutes 3:30 pm Room 233 University Center

Frankie Powell	Stephen Bukowy	Jesse Peters
Cherry Beasley	Ottis Murray	Sally Vallabha
Mabel Rivera	David Nikkel	Cliff Mensah

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 3:35 pm

A. Introduction of Members

Continuing committee members introduced themselves to the new committee members. New members briefly introduced themselves as well.

B. Election of Chair for 2016-2017

Dr. Jesse Peters was elected chair by consensus.

C. Selection of Secretary for 2016-2017

Dr. David Nikkel was selected by acclamation. Dr. Frankie Denise Powell agreed to serve as recording secretary for the September meeting.

II. Approval of Minutes

The minutes from the April 19, 2016 meeting were approved by consensus.

III. Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved by consensus.

IV. Report from the Chair

The chair is also chair of FIAC. He stated that this is a great conduit for reporting information to Governance. Upon observing and interacting with the Chancellor, the chair thinks that the Chancellor is receptive to the philosophy of Shared Governance.

V. Unfinished Business

It was suggested that the New Faculty Social Event be held at the Incubator on October 15, 2016.

VI. New Business

Discussion of Membership of the Enrollment Management

Article VI Section I: Sections 2 and 3 will have to change due to the realignment of departments. Dr. Powell moved that the Director of the Center for Student Success be added; it was seconded by Dr. Murray. The motion passed unanimously.

Guest: Derek Oxendine

Dr. Oxendine's presentation was a rationale for why the Director of the Center for Student Success should be a member of the Enrollment Management. His explanation included the following points:

The dismantled Division of Enrollment Management

The change in conceptualization from an emphasis on enrollment to an emphasis on retention.

The reorganization of the Center for Student Success during the summer

VII.Announcements

There were no announcements.

VIII.Adjournment

Adjournment - 4:44 PM

Frankie Denise Powell, Ph.D. Secretary (October 2016)

Return to Agenda

Appendix **B**

Article VI Section 1

C. The Committee shall have four subcommittees:

- The Subcommittee on Curriculum shall examine all proposals and policies relating to curriculum. This subcommittee is responsible for sending to the Academic Affairs Committee all information pertaining to each individual course which is necessary for the computer data bank. The Curriculum Committee shall make recommendations to the Academic Affairs Committee on their adoption based upon policies disseminated in the Faculty Handbook, Section II, Chapter 5 on Faculty Participation in Academic Policy and Curriculum Development.
- 2. The function of the Enrollment Management Subcommittee shall be to consider policies and standards related to admissions and recruitment, financial aid, retention, advising, graduation, and related areas. The Subcommittee shall also be charged with receiving expressions of concern or interest regarding any of the areas listed above from faculty, staff, administration, or students. The Subcommittee shall, as it deems necessary, make recommendations to the Academic Affairs Committee on these matters.
- 3. The Subcommittee on Academic Support Services shall examine proposals and policies relating to the operations and development of the Library, the Academic Support Center, the Division of Information Technology, and the University Writing Center and shall make appropriate recommendations/ proposals to the Academic Affairs Committee.

The Subcommittee shall also conduct, with the assistance of the Office of Institutional Effectiveness, a regular, usually biennial survey of the University community to assess perceptions of facilities and services of each academic support service area. The Subcommittee will report the information from the survey to the Academic Affairs Committee, director of the appropriate academic support service area, the Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, and the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs.

4. The General Education Subcommittee shall review the established/published goals of the General Education Program to ensure their concurrence with the University mission; review proposed changes in the General Education

requirements for policies to ensure their concurrence with established program goals; and consider other matters referred to it.

The Subcommittee shall submit all matters of policy pertaining to the General Education Program and all curriculum proposals directly to the Academic Affairs Committee for its consideration.

Article VI Section 4

The Subcommittees and Boards shall be composed as follows, with each member having one vote:

A. Academic Affairs Committee

1. The Subcommittee on Curriculum: Two Representatives from each Division, One Representative from the Office for Academic Affairs, Registrar, SGA Secretary, SGA Senator. 2. The Enrollment Management Subcommittee One faculty member from each division, one of whom shall Chair the subcommittee. Associate Vice Chancellor for Enrollment One SGA representative. 3. The Subcommittee on Academic Support Services: One Representative from each Division, one of whom shall Chair the subcommittee Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Resources, Dean of Library Services, Director of the Academic Support Center, Director of the Center for Student Success Director of the Accessibility Resource Center, Director of the Writing Center Two at-large faculty members from departments not already represented, One Graduate Student, One SGA Senator.

Return to Agenda