News & Events
News & Events
UNCP Home News & Events UNCP faculty reap year-end awards
  • A
  • A

UNCP faculty reap year-end awards

May 24, 2004

 faculty advising awards

Faculty Advising Awards - Sandy Stratil, Sara Brackin, Chancellor Meadors, Dr. John Bowman and Sharon Bell

Faculty at The University of North Carolina at Pembroke celebrated their achievements at the annual Faculty Appreciation Dinner.

"This is a time of celebration, a time to celebrate 406 graduates," Chancellor Allen C. Meadors said on the eve of Spring Commencement. "It is a time to celebrate the remarkable influence that you have had on our graduates."

It was a time to look back on the year, but it was also a time to introduce a new award for Excellence in Academic Advising. A grant from Bell South made the awards possible.

"There is a great legacy of faculty who care here at the University," Chancellor Meadors said. "I am especially pleased that we have added the award for advisement."

dial awards 

Dial Awards - Stewart Thomas (left) and Dr. Mohammad Ashraf, both of the School of Business

"We have a lot of first generation college students, and advising can make the difference," he said. "My hat is off to those who take the extra time."

Business Professor Sharon Bell, sociology Professor Dr. John Bowman, Registrar Sara Brackin and College Opportunity Program Director Sandy Stratil were named recipients of the first award for Excellence in Advising.

A pair of business professors, Dr. Mohammad Ashraf and William Stewart Thomas, won Adolph L. Dial Awards for Research and Creative Work and Community Service, respectively.

An economist, Dr. Ashraf published many articles during the academic year, and Thomas is the founder and co-chair of Scotland County's Relay for Life, which raised $750,000 last year.

 outstanding teachers

Outstanding teachers - From left: Dr. Tim Ritter, Dr. David Fricke, Chancellor Meadors, Dr. Susan Canata and Dr. Nancy Barrineau

Outstanding Teaching Awards went to Dr. Nancy Barrineau and Dr. Susan Cannata, of the Department of English, Theatre and Languages; Dr. David Fricke, of the School of Business and Dr. Timothy Ritter of the Department of Chemistry and Physics.

Departmental faculty awards went to Dr. John Labadie and Paul Van Zandt in art; Dr. Dennis Edgell in geography; Dr. Deok-Hyun Hwang, Dr. Charles Lillie and Dr. Lazlo Zsilinszky in math and computer science; Dr. Kelly Charlton, Dr. Will Collier, Dr. Elizabeth Denny, Dr. Beverly King and Dr. Debra Preston in psychology and counseling; Cammie Hunt, Sharon Bell and Dr. Stephen Bukowy in business and Dr. Karen Stanley and Debbie Thompson in education.

Dr. Jesse Peters of the Department of English, Theatre and Languages was introduced as the new chair of the Faculty Senate, replacing Dr. Thomas Dooling of the Department of Chemistry and Physics.