• weather Alert ✖CLOSE

    Due to winter weather, the university will operate on condition 2—suspended operations—until 11 a.m. Thursday, January 18. The university will operate on condition 1--reduced operations--from 11 a.m. until 5 p.m. Thursday. More information can be found at: uncp.edu/news/winter-weather-wednesday-january-17


Museum of the Southeast American Indian

History of Naso

The Native American Student Organization began in the early 1970s as the Lumbee Student Association. Over the years the name was changed to the American Indian Student Association (mid 1970s - mid 1980s) and eventually became the Native American Student Organization
(mid 1980s – present).

The purpose of the Native American Student Organization at UNCP is to promote pride in our Native American Heritage, explore economic, political and educational opportunities of Native Americans and to promote the unification of Native students on our campus.

One of the visions that the original group had was to see Native American Student Organizations on all North Carolina college campuses, and schools with a significant Native American population, i.e., high schools and elementary schools as well as membership in National Native American student organizations.

Some of the founding members of the organization are Samuel Kerns (1st president of the organization), David Graham, Ed Chavis, Dr. Angela Chavis, Carolyn Locklear, Gail Locklear, Harold Baxley Locklear, Cathy Locklear and Harold Dial.

Other early members were Dr. Curt Locklear Jr, Dr. David Brooks, Christine Jacobs, James Worriox, Numer Locklear, Brawley Graham, Helen Clark, Leverne Locklear, Harry Worriax and Wanda Jacobs.

Group Photo from 1973

From the 1973 Indianhead, Pembroke State University

Standing: Ed Chavis, President; Harry Worriax, Kent Patrick, David Wilkins, David Graham, Von Locklear, Boyce Maynor, Phillip Bell, James Hardin, Keith Locklear, David Oxendine, Harold Dial.

Sitting: Jeannette Moore, Phyllis Jones, Arlene Locklear, Secretary-Treasurer; David Brooks, Fannie Oxendine, Christopher Locklear.
Not Pictured: Levernen Dial, Vice-President.

Note: Information on the history of the Native American Student Organization was provided by Samuel Kerns. If you are a former NASO (LSA, AISA) member and have information you would like to contribute on the history of the organization please contact us.


Return to Native American Student Organization