Gender Studies Minor

Faculty

Kelly BrookeE. Brooke Kelly

Coordinator of Gender Studies Minor, Web Information Coordinator for site Safe Zone Image
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice
Email: brooke.kelly@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4038
Office: Sampson Building, Rm 212
Courses Offered: SOC 3540: Gender & Society, and SOC3030: Family

Charles BeemCharles Beem

Associate Professor
Department of History
Email:  charles.beem@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6229
Office: Dial Humanities, Rm 205
Courses Offered: HST4120: The History of Sexuliaty, and special topic courses in History

Cindy E. Edwards

Lecturer and Field Advisor
Department of Social Work
Email: cindy.edwards@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4382
Office: Health Sciences Building, Room 361L
Courses Offered:  SWK3870: Women in Society

Sherry Edwards

Sherry L. Edwards

Professor and Chair
Department of Social Work
Email: sherry.edwards@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6476
Office: Health Sciences Buildine, Room 361E
Courses Offered:  SWK3870: Women in Society

Michele Fazio

Assistant Professor
Department of English
Email: michele.fazio@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4371
Office: Dial 113
Courses Offered:  Special Topics in English

Jane HaladayJane Haladay

Associate Professor
Department of American Indian Studies
Email: haladayj@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6485
Office: Old Main, Room 203
Courses Offered:  AIS4250:  American Indian Women

Karen Helgeson

Karen Helgeson

Professor
Department of English and Theater
Email: karen.helgeson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6436
Office: Dial Humanities, Rm 107
Courses Offered:  ENG2080:  Women’s Literature

Jamie Martinez

Assistant Professor
Department of History
Email: jamie.martinez@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4031
Office: Dial Humanities, Rm 209
Courses Offered: HSTS 3315 - African American Women

Emily Neff-Sharum

Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science
Email: emily.neffsharum@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4409
Office: Oxendine Science Building, Room 1320-B 
Courses Offered: Special topics on women and politics

Catherine Parisian

Catherine Parisian

Assistant Professor
Department of English and Theater
Email: catherine.parisian@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4291
Office: Dial Humanities, Rm 116
Courses Offered:  ENG2080:  Women’s Literature

Rasby PowellRasby Marlene Powell

Professor Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice
Email: rasby.powell@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6477
Office: Sampson Building, Room 213
Courses Offered: SOC 3540: Gender & Society, and SOC3030: Family

Therese Rizzo

Therese Rizzo

Assistant Professor
Department of English and Theater
Email: therese.rizzo@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5802
Office: Dial Humanities, Rm 108
Courses Offered:  ENG2080:  Women’s Literature

James RobinsonJames W. Robinson

Associate Professor
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice
Email: james.robinson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6472
Office: Sampson Building, Rm 216
Courses Offered: SOC 3540: Gender and Society, SOC 3890: Exploring Masculinities

Melissa Schaub

Melissa Schaub

Associate Professor
Department of English and Theater
Email: melissa.schaub@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5794
Office: D.F. Lowery, Rm 322
Courses Offered:  ENG2080:  Women’s Literature

Rose StremlauRose Stremlau

Associate Professor
Department of History
Email: rose.stremlau@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6317
Office: Dial Humanities, Rm 209
Courses: HST4120: The History of Sexuality, HST 3800: Women and the Development of U.S. Society, and Special Topics in History