Distance Education

Contact Us

Office of Distance Education

PO Box 1510
Pembroke, NC 28372-1510
Phone / Relay: 910.521.6367 
Fax: 910.521.6762
Email: ced@uncp.edu
Location: Dogwood Building 

 

Office of Distance Education Staff

Joy Fuqua

Director
Dogwood Building, Room 16
Email: joy.fuqua@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6352

 

Areas: Responsible for planning, developing, implementing, and managing all distance learning programs; Oversees all instructional design of courses and course delivery; provides faculty and staff with strategic, support resources that assure instructional effectiveness of courses and programs delivered via face-to-face, interactive video, and online modalities; Supervises and approves the issuance of contracts to faculty for developing and teaching distance education courses.

 

Julie Layne

Tony Lewis

Assistant Director
Dogwood Building, Room 18
Email: tony.lewis@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6758

Areas: Serves as point of contact for SREB, SARA NC, and State Authorization of online programs; Serves as the point of contact for all community college relations, including the drafting of new and revising of existing bilateral articulation agreements; Responsible for scaling, marketing and promoting distance education programs; Serves as the liaison between Distance Education and key student support services for prospective and continuing distance education students (e.g., Admissions, Advising, Registrar, New Student Orientation). 

 

Charlene Locklear

Charlene Locklear

University Program Specialist
Dogwood Building, Room 15
Email: charlene.locklear@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6537                                                              

Areas: Oversees faculty contracts for online and off-campus programs; Coordinates the overall administration of the University's Summer School Program (faculty contracts, budget, etc.); Responsible for all office management functions and serves as liaison between Distance Education and other key units such as Human Resources, Payroll, Purchasing, Budgeting and Facilities Services.

 

Terry Locklear

Terry Locklear

Instructional Designer
Magnolia Building, Room 08
Email: terry.locklear@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4074

Areas: Works with the faculty and staff to design or redesign online courses, prepare and deliver developmental training to faculty and staff in the utilization of instructional technologies, and develop as well as deliver online orientation for students and faculty to assure preparedness; Provides support for faculty that includes expertise in pedagogy, course design, quality matters, learning technologies, and analytics; Coordinates and serves as the liaison for UNC Online.

 

 Gene Deese

Technology Support Analyst
Magnolia Building, Room 03
Email: gene.deese@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4330

Areas: Responsible for planning and directing all technological activities related to Distance Education; Responsible for Online and Graduate Course Evaluations, Distance Education Analytics, Qualtrics Survey Developer; Supervises Community College IVC Technicians; Responsible for Low Level Hardware and Software Implementation.

 

Reginald Bullock

Reginald Bullock

Transfer Transition Coordinator
Dogwood Building, Room 08
Email: reginald.bullock@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4376

 

Areas: Responsible for advising and providing assistance to students transferring to UNC Pembroke. Advocates for transfer students by linking them to academic, financial, and student support resources.

  

Amy Schneider

Administrative Support Associate
Office of Distance Education
Dogwood Building
Email: amy.schneider@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6367

 

 

Kineisha Hunter

Administrative Support Associate
Proctoring Services
Magnolia House
Email: kineisha.hunter@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4071

 

 

Michael Alewine

Outreach/Distance Education Librarian
Livermore Library, Room 213
Email: michael.alewine@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5743

 

 

Campus Administrative Coordinators

Chris Bennett

Campus Administrative Coordinator
Richmond Community College
Email: chris.bennett@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.410.1852

 

Ronette Wilson

Ronette Wilson

Campus Administrative Coordinator
Cape Fear Community College
Email: ronette.wilson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.675.2202

 

 

Fredanel Story

Campus Administrative Coordinator
Sandhills Community College
Email: joyce.story@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.695.3919