Sociology and Criminal Justice
Sociology and Criminal Justice

Faculty and Staff - Welcome Back Students!

Mario PaparozziMario A. Paparozzi, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor
Phone: 910.522.5783
Email:  mario.paparozzi@uncp.edu
Office: 202 Sampson

Office Hours: Fall Semester 2015; Mon., Tues., & Fri. 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. & By appointment
Specialty areas: Probation and Parole, Community Corrections, Criminology

Shannon MaynorShannon J. Maynor

Administrative Support Associate
Phone: 910.521.6380
Email:  shannon.maynor@uncp.edu
Office: 201 Sampson

 

Jessica AbbottJessica Abbott, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Email:  jessica.abbott@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775-4259
Office: 222 Sampson

Office Hours: Fall Semester 2015; Mon., Wed., & Fri. 10:00 a.m. -12:00 p.m. & By appointment

 

Yawo A. Bessa, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Email:  yawo.bessa@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521-6477
Office: 218 Sampson

Office Hours:  Fall Semester 2015; Tues. & Thurs., 3:25 p.m. - 4:25 p.m.; Wed., 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., & By appointment
Specialty Areas:  Sociology of Health/Mental Health, Sociological Theory, Delinquency/Deviance, Gerontology, & Family

 

John BowmanJohn Bowman, Ph.D.

Professor
Phone: 910.521.6626
Email:  john.bowman@uncp.edu
Office: 211 Sampson

Office Hours: Fall Semester 2015; By appointment only.
Specialty areas: The Family, At-risk Youth, Health Promotionand Wellness, Chinese Studies

 

Calvina EllerbeCalvina Ellerbe, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Phone: 910.521.6541
Email:  calvina.ellerbe@uncp.edu
Office: 221 Sampson

Office Hours: Fall Semester 2015; Mon. & Wed., 7:00 a.m. -7:55 a.m., 12:10 p.m. - 2:10 p.m.; Fri., 7:00 a.m. - 7:55 a.m., 12:10 p.m.-1:10 p.m., & By appointment
Specialty areas: Demography, Marriage and Family, Race and Ethnicity

 

Jessica GodseyJessica Godsey, J.D.

Lecturer 
Phone: 910.521.6574
Email:  jessica.godsey@uncp.edu
Office: 209 Sampson

Office hours: Fall Semester 2015; Tues. & Thurs., 8:30 a.m. - 9:30 a.m., 1:45 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.; Wed., 9:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m., & By appointment
Specialty areas: Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Family Violence

 

Roger GuyRoger Guy, Ph.D.

Professor
Phone: 910.775.4273
Email:  roger.guy@uncp.edu
Office: 208 Sampson

Office Hours: Fall Semester 2015; Mon., Wed., & Fri., 7:00 – 8:00, Mon. & Wed., 9:00 – 11:00, and by appointment.

DARS Audit Instructions
List of Writing Intensive Courses (Fall 2015)  

 
 

Sonali Jain

Sonali Jain, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor 
Phone: 910.521.6474
Email:  sjain@uncp.edu
Office: 219 Sampson

Office hours: Fall 2015; Mon., Wed., & Fri., 9:30 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. & By appointment
Specialty areas: Globalization, Asia, Qualitative Methods

 

Brooke Kelly

E. Brooke Kelly, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Phone: 910.775.4038
Email:  brooke.kelly@uncp.edu
Office: 212 Sampson

Office Hours: Fall Semester 2015; Mon., Wed., & Fri., 12:15 p.m. -1:15 p.m, 2:30 p.m. - 3:15 p.m. & By appointment
Specialty areas: Inequalities, Gender, Family, Work, and Poverty

 

Renee Lamphere

Renee Lamphere, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Phone: 910.775.4084
Email:  renee.lamphere@uncp.edu
Office: 218 Sampson

Office Hours: Mon. & Wed., 10am-11am, Wed., 2:30pm-4:30pm, F 10am-11am, and by appointment.
Specialty areas: Corrections, Digital Media Crime, Juvenile Delinquency, Violence & Victimology, Mixed-Methods Research

 

J. Porter Lillis

J. Porter Lillis, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Phone: 910.521.6473
Email:  john.lillis@uncp.edu
Office: 220 Sampson

Office Hours:  Fall Semester 2015: Mon. & Wed., 8:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m., 9:55 a.m. – 10:10 a.m., 11:00 a.m. – 11:15 a.m., 12:05 p.m. – 3:00 p.m., Fri., 9:55 a.m. – 10:10 a.m., 11:00 a.m. – 11:15 a.m., & By appointment

 

Bob M

Robert S. McDonnell, MPA

Lecturer
Phone: 910.521.6232
Email:  robert.mcdonnell@uncp.edu
Office: 215 Sampson

Office Hours:  Fall Semester 2015; Tues. & Thurs., 10:45 a.m. - 11:45 a.m.; Wed., 8:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m., & By appointment
Specialty areas: Terrorism Studies, Criminal Investigation, Criminal Procedure, Criminal Justice Leadership, Investigative Information Management, International Law Enforcement.
 

Ottis Murray

Ottis Murray, Ed.D

Professor
Phone: 910.521.6821
Email:  ottis.murray@uncp.edu
Office: 214 Sampson

Office Hours:  Fall Semester 2015; Mon. & Wed., 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m., and 2:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.; Fri., 11:30 a.m. -1:00 p.m., & By appointment 
Specialty areas: Collective Behavior and Social Movements, Popular Culture, Death and Dying, Computer/Technology & Society
 

Sam Pearson

Sam Pearson, Ph.D.

Lecturer 
Email:  sam.pearson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6885
Office: 207 Sampson

Office Hours: Fall Semester 2015; Tues. & Thurs., 10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m., 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m., 2:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m., Fri., 10:00 a.m - 12:00 p.m. & By appointment
Specialty areas: Criminology, Private Security, Community Policing, Criminal Investigation, Criminal Justice Administration and Management 

 

Elizabeth M. Reiter

Assistant Professor
Email:  miranda.reiter@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521-6475
Office: 221 Sampson

Office Hours:  Fall Semester 2015; Mon., Wed., & Fri.,
10:00 a.m. -11:00 a.m., 1:30 p.m. - 2:15 p.m., & By appointment 
 

James Robinson

James W. Robinson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Director of the UNCP Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies Degree Program 
Email:  james.robinson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5785
Office: 216 Sampson
Office Hours: Fall Semester 2015; Mon. & Fri., 11:15 a.m. - 1:15 p.m., Wed., 12:15 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. & By appointment
Specialty areas: Theory, Social Psychology, Social Inequality, Organizations, Research Methods, Statistics 
 

Michael Spivey

Michael Spivey, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Phone: 910.521.6776
Email:  michael.spivey@uncp.edu
Office: 210 Sampson

Office Hours:  Fall Semester 2015; Tues. & Thurs., 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.; Wed., 10:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Specialty areas: Social Inequality, Native American Studies, Critical Theory/Cultural Studies, Ethnography 

 

Adjunct Faculty

Angelia Adams (angelia.adams@uncp.edu)
Robert Baker (robert.baker@uncp.edu)
R. Travis Bryant (travis.bryant@uncp.edu)
Marda Godsey (marda.godsey@uncp.edu)
Andrzej Jachimczyk (andrzej.jachimczyk@uncp.edu)
Rudy Locklear (rudy.locklear@uncp.edu)
Stephen Marson (steve.marson@uncp.edu)
Jesse McQueen (jesse.mcqueen@uncp.edu)
Judith Paparozzi (judith.paparozzi@uncp.edu)
Kweilin Pikciunas (kweilin.pikciunas@uncp.edu)
Rasby M. Powell (rasby.powell@uncp.edu)
Neilson Weatherly (neilson.weatherly@uncp.edu)