Nursing

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Barbara B. Synowiez, PhD, MSN, RN 

Department Chair
Professor and BSN Coordinator 
Health Sciences Building; Office 340J 
Phone: 910.521.6522
Email: barbara.synowiez@uncp.edu

Office Hours: M 4:00-6:00 PM; T 4:00- 5:00 PM (Sandhills Community College); W 3:00-500 PM; Th 3:00-400 PM

Joyce Beard

Joyce M. Beard, MSN, PHCNS-BC, NCSN, RN 

Clinical Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 325 
Phone: 910.775.4308
Email: joyce.beard@uncp.edu

Office Hours:  T 12:30 - 3:00 PM; W 5:00 - 6:00 PM (First Health); Th 12:30 - 2:00 PM

Cherry Maynor Beasley, PhD, MS, FNP, RN 

Associate Professor
Coordinator, RN-BSN Option 
Health Sciences Building; Office 301 
Phone: 910.521.6524 
Email: cherry.beasley@uncp.edu

Office Hours:  T 4:00-6:00 PM; W 1:30-300 PM; Th 2:00-3:30 PM

Lester Brigman

Lester Brigman, DNP, MSN, FNP-BC, PNP-BC 

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 327
Phone:910.775.4406
Email: lester.brigman@uncp.edu 

Office Hours: M 9:00-12:00 PM; T 4:00-5:00 PM; Th 1:00-3:00 PM; Sunday (Virtual) 4:00-6:00 by appointment; Other times by appointment

Antonia Clark

Antonia M. Clark, MSN, RN, BC 

Clinical Assistant Professor 
Health Sciences Building; Office 314 
Phone: 910.775.4145
Email: antonia.clark@uncp.edu

Office Hours: M 12:00-1:00 PM and 3:00-5:00 PM; W 3:30-4:30 PM; F 8:00-9:00 AM

Dena Evans

Dena B. Evans, EdD, MPH, BSN, RN, CNE

Associate Professor 
Health Sciences Building; Office 323 
Phone: 910.521.6653
Email: dena.evans@uncp.edu

Office Hours:  (1st 8 weeks) M 5:00-6:00 (Virtual); W 3:30-4:00 PM; F 9:00-12:00 PM

Martha Hepler

Martha B. Hepler MSN/Ed., RN 

Director, Clinical Learning Center
Clinical Assistant Professor 
Health Sciences Building; Office 216A 
Phone: 910.775.4139
Email: martha.hepler@uncp.edu

Office Hours:  W 3:30-5:00 PM; F 9:00-12:00 PM

Jennifer Johnson

Jennifer L. Johnson, MSN, WHNP-BC, RN

Director of Undergraduate Programs 
Assistant Professor 
Health Sciences Building; Office 340H 
Phone: 910.521.6787
Email: jennifer.johnson@uncp.edu

Office Hours: M-Th 10 AM-12:PM 

Jennifer Locklear

Jennifer Jones-Locklear, MSN/Ed., RN 

Clinical Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 318 
Phone: 910.775.4162
Email: jennifer.jones-locklear@uncp.edu

Office Hours:  M 12:30-3:30 PM; Th 2:00-300 PM (SRMC); F 7:00-8:00 PM (SRMC)

 

Astrid Oviedo

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 329
Phone: 910.521.6739
Email: astrid.oviedo@uncp.edu

Office Hours:  M 12:00-1:00 PM; T 6:00-7:00 PM; Th 12:00-1:00 PM; F 12:00-2:00 PM

Joyce Stanley

Joyce D. Stanley, MSN/CNS, RN 

Assistant Professor
Learning Enhancement Center Coordinator
Health Sciences Building; Office 257B 
Phone: 910.775.4141
Email: joyce.stanley@uncp.edu

Office Hours: M 3:00-5:00 PM; T 2:00-4:00 PM; W 8:00-9:00 AM

Jennifer Twaddell

Jennifer W. Twaddell PhD, MSN, RN 

RIBN Director 
Assistant Professor 
Health Sciences Building; Office 331 
Phone: 910.775.4142
Email: jennifer.twaddell@uncp.edu

Office Hours:  T 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM; W 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM;        Th 3:00-4:00 PM

Tiffany Tyson

Tiffany Tyson, DNP, MSN, FNP-BC 

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 317
Phone: 910-775-4535
Email: tiffany.tyson@uncp.edu

Office Hours:  M 5:30 - 6:00 PM (CFVMC); T 3:00 - 5:00 PM; W 12:00 - 3:00 PM; Th 3:00 - 3:30 PM

Aprel Ventura

Aprel Ventura, MSN, RN, CNE 

Assistant Professor 
Health Sciences Building; Office 322 
Phone: 910.775.4147
Email: aprel.ventura@uncp.edu

Office Hours:  M 12:00-1:00 PM and 4:00-5:00 PM; T 3:00-5:00 PM; Th 10:00-12 PM

Staff

Mary Baynes

Mary Baynes

Administrative Support Associate 
Health Sciences Building; Office 340A 
Phone: 910.775.4447

Email: mary.baynes@uncp.edu