English, Theatre & Foreign Languages

English Faculty

Wendy Miller

Wendy Pearce Miller

Chair and Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Mississippi

Email: wendy.miller@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6886
Office: Dial 105
Office Hours: Mon 8:30-5:00; Tues 8:30-5:00; Wed 8:30-5:00; Thurs 8:30-5:00; Fri 8:30-5:00.

Areas: American Literature, Southern Literature

Youngsuk Chae

Youngsuk Chae

Assistant Chair and Associate Professor
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University

Email: youngsuk.chae@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4290
Office: Dial 119
Office Hours: Mon 12:00-2:15, 3:45-5:00; Tues 12:00-1:45; Wed 12:00-2:15, 3:45-5:00; Thurs 12:00-1:45.

Areas: Postcolonial Literature, World Literature, Asian American Literature


Nikki Agee

Nikki Agee

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas

Email: nikki.agee@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6635
Office: Dial 239
Office Hours: Tues 2:00-4:00; Wed 2:00-4:00; Thurs 2:00-4:00.

Areas: Technical and Professional Writing; Digital and Multimodal Rhetoric; Composition

Robert Arndt

Robert Arndt

Part-Time Lecturer and Reference/Instructional Services Librarian
M.F.A., M.L.S., University of South Carolina

Email: robert.arndt@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6529
Office: Mary Livermore Library 105
Office Hours: 

Areas: Composition

Hannah Baggott

Hannah Baggott Anderson

Lecturer 
M.F.A., Oregon State University

Email: hannah.baggott@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6429
Office: Dial 249
Office Hours: Tues 1:30-4:30; Wed 12:15-1:15; Fri 9:00-10:00; and by appointment.

Areas: Composition and Creative Writing

Mike Berntsen

Mike Berntsen Safe Zone Secular Student Alliance

Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., University of Louisiana, Lafayette

Email: michael.berntsen@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4370
Office: Dial 133
Office Hours:  Mon 10:00-11:30; Tues 11:00-12:00; Wed 10:00-11:30; Thurs 11:00-12:00; Fri 10:00-11:30; and by appointment.

Areas: English & Spanish Renaissance, Theatre History, Composition, Creative Writing, and Pop Culture Studies

Brandy Brown

Brandy Brown

Assistant Professor & Writing Center Director
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Email: brandy.brown@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4672
Office: D.F. Lowry 313
Office Hours:  Mon 1:00 – 3:00; Tues 2:00 – 4:00; Wed 1:00 – 3:00, Thurs 11:00-1:00; and by appointment.

Areas: Writing Studies: Writing Centers & Writing Program Administration, Rhetoric and Composition, Critical Pedagogy, Women’s Studies

Monika Brown

Monika Brown

Professor
Ph.D., Duke University

Email: monika.brown@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6257
Office: Dial 110
Office Hours: Mon 10:00-11:00, 2:30-3:30; Wed 12:15-1:15, 2:30-3:30; Fri 12:15-1:15.

Areas: British Novel, World Literature, Victorian Studies, Literature in Music and Film, Composition & English Education

Danielle Brownsberger

Danielle Brownsberger

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Email: danielle.brownsberger@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4362
Office: Dial 154
Office Hours:  Tues 1:00-2:00; Wed 10:00-12:00; Thurs 1:00-2:00, 4:45-6:30; and by appointment.

Steven Byrd

Steven Byrd

Adjunct Instructor
M.F.A. in Creative Writing North Carolina State University

Email: steven.byrd@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.4244
Office: Dial 151
Office Hours: 

Areas: Composition, Creative Writing, and American Literature

Polina Chemishanova

Polina Chemishanova

Associate Professor and Director of Composition
Ph.D., New Mexico State University

Email: polina.chemishanova@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4256
Office: Dial 239A
Office Hours: Mon 1:00-3:00; Tues 11:00-12:00; Wed 1:00-3:00; Thurs 11:00-12:00; and by appointment. 

Areas: Writing in the Disciplines, Professional Writing, WPA, Writing Program Assessment, Rhetoric and Composition

Aaron Cole

Aaron Cole

Lecturer
M.A., Western Carolina University

Email: aaron.cole@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4239
Office: Dial 139
Office Hours:  Mon 1:15-2:15; Tues 2:00-3:00; Wed 1:15-2:15; Thurs 2:00-3:00; Fri 1:15-2:15.

Teagan Decker

Teagan DeckerSafe Zone

Associate Professor and Assistant Dean of Esther G. Maynor Honors College
Ph.D., University of Washington

Email: teagan.decker@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6437
Office: Hickory Hall
Office Hours: Mon 2:00-3:00; Tues 2:00-3:00; Wed 2:00-3:00; Thurs 2:00-3:00; Fri 2:00-3:00; and by appointment.

Areas: Writing Center Theory & Practice, Composition & Rhetoric

Michael Fairley

Michael Fairley

Part-time Lecturer
M.A., North Carolina A & T University

Email: michael.fairley@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6246
Office: 
Office Hours: 

Areas: English, African American Literature, Communications

Michele Fazio

Michele Fazio  safezone

Associate Professor
Ph.D., SUNY-Stony Brook

Email: michele.fazio@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4371
Office: Dial 113
Office Hours: Mon 4:30-5:30 (ONLINE); Tues 2:30-3:30 & 6:15-7:15; Thurs 1:30-3:30.

Areas: Twentieth-Century and Contemporary American Literature, Multi-ethnic Literature, Working-Class Studies, Service-Learning

Virginia Garnett

Virginia Garnett  secular safe zone

Lecturer
Ph.D., University of Delaware

Email: virginia.garnett@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6814
Office: Dial 114A
Office Hours: Mon 1:30-2:30; Tues 11:00-12:30, 1:00-2:30; Wed 1:30-2:30; Fri 1:30-2:30; and by appointment.

Areas: American Literature, Composition

Peter Grimes

Peter Grimes

Assistant Professor of Creative Writing & Pembroke Magazine Editor
Ph.D., University of Cincinnati

Email: peter.grimes@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6433
Office: Dial 102
Office Hours: Tues 1:00-2:00; Wed 12:00-3:00; Thurs 1:00-2:00; and by appointment. 

AreasCreative Writing, Editing, and American Literature 

Anita R. Guynn

Anita R. Guynn

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of South Carolina

Email: anita.guynn@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6880
Office: Dial 260C
Office Hours: 

Areas: Composition, Developmental Writing, Writing Across the Curriculum, Assessment, Service-Learning Faculty Fellow

Steven Hedgpeth

Steven Hedgpeth safe zone

Lecturer
M.A., University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Email: steven.hedgpeth@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6784
Office: Dial 151
Office Hours: Mon 11:30-1:00, 3:30-4:00; Wed 11:30-1:00, 3:30-4:00; Fri 11:30-1:00; and by appointment.

Areas: Composition and Literature

Jim Helgeson

Jim Helgeson

Lecturer
Ph.D., Indiana University

Email: jim.helgeson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6487
Office: Dial 138C
Office Hours: 

Areas: Literary Theory, History of the Novel

Karen Helgeson

Karen Helgeson

Professor and Faculty Advisor, Student Publication, The Aurochs
Ph.D., University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Email: karen.helgeson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6436
Office: Dial 107
Office Hours: 

Areas: Modernism, Creative Writing, and Contemporary Literature

Scott Hicks

Scott Hicks

Professor and Teaching and Learning Center Director
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Email: scott.hicks@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4032
Office: Livermore Library 246A  
Office Hours: Mon 10:00-11:15; Tues 9:30-10:45; Wed 10:00-11:15; Fri 10:00-11:15; and by appointment. 

Areas: African American Literature, Twentieth-Century American Literature, Environmental Literature

Eun Hee Jeon

Eun Hee Jeon

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Northern Arizona University

Email: eunhee.jeon@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6842
Office: Dial 260B
Office Hours:  

Areas: Applied Linguistics, TESOL, Second Language Reading, Sociolinguistics, and Pragmatics

Deana C. Johnson

Deana C. Johnson

Lecturer and Director of College Opportunity Program
M.A., University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Email: deana.johnson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6470
Office: D. F. Lowry 126
Office Hours: Mon 1:00-3:00; Wed 12:30-2:00; Thurs 9:30-11:00; Fri 12:30-1:30; and by appointment.

Areas: First Year Transitions

Brigitte Knight

Brigitte Knight

Lecturer
M.A., University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Email: brigitte.knight@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6484
Office: Dial 138B
Office Hours: Mon 1:30-3:30; Wed 1:30-3:30; Fri 1:30-2:30; and by appointment.

Areas: Composition

Roger A. Ladd

Roger A. Ladd

Professor and Director of the Graduate Program in English Education
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison

Email: roger.ladd@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6624
Office: Dial 121
Office Hours: Mon 11:00-12:00; Tues 11:00-12:00; Wed 11:00-12:00; Thurs 11:00-12; Fri 11:00-12:00; and by appointment. 

Areas: Medieval Studies, British Literature, and Composition

Autumn Lauzon

Autumn Lauzon

Lecturer
Ph.D., Middle Tennessee State University

Email: autumn.lauzon@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5798
Office: Dial 111
Office Hours: Mon 12:15-2:00; Tues 12:30-2:00; Wed 12:15-2:00; Thurs 12:30-2:00; and by appointment.

Areas: American Literature, Beginnings to 1910, George Lippard, the American Revolution in Historical Romances and Antebellum America

Ron Layne

Ron Layne

Part-time Lecturer
M.A., Winthrop University

Email: ronald.layne@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6246
Office: 
Office Hours: 

Areas: Speech

Walter Lewallen

Walter Lewallen

Lecturer
Ph.D., University of South Florida

Email: walter.lewallen@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4154
Office: Dial 151
Office Hours: 

Areas: Twentieth-Century British & American Literature, Literary Theory

Abigail Mann

Abigail Mann safe zone

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University

Email: abigail.mann@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6312
Office: Dial 115
Office Hours: Mon 3:30-5:00; Tues 2:00-4:30; Wed 12:15-1:15; Fri 3:30-4:30.

Areas: Nineteenth-Century British Literature, Science and Literature, Nineteenth-Century Liberalism, Gender Studies

Cynthia Miecznikowski

Cynthia Miecznikowski

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University

Email: cynthia.miecznikowski@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5749
Office: Dial 239B
Office Hours: Mon 9:00-10:00; Tues 11:00-12:00; Wed 9:00-10:00; Thurs 11:00-12:00; Fri 9:00-10:00; and by appointment.

Areas: Rhetorical History, Theory, Pedagogy, and Practice; Writing, the Essay

Michelle Nettle

Michelle Nettle

Lecturer
M.A., University of North Carolina at Wilmington

Email: michelle.nettle@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6430 
Office: Dial 138A 
Office Hours: Mon 8:00-9:00, 12:15-1:15; Wed 8:00-9:00, 12:15-1:15; Fri 8:00-9:00.

Areas: Composition

Sara Oswald

Sara Oswald

Senior Lecturer and Yearbook Advisor
M.A., Rutgers University

Email: sara.oswald@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6566
Office: Dial 112
Office Hours:

Areas: British Literature, Composition, Publication Editing and Design

Catherine Parisian

Catherine Parisian

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia

Email: catherine.parisian@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4291
Office: Dial 116
Office Hours: Tues 10:45-12:30, 1:20-2:00, 2:50-3:50; Wed 3:20-4:30; Thurs 10:45-11:15. 

Areas: Eighteenth-Century British Literature, The Novel, Book History

Melissa Schaub

Melissa Schaub safezone

Associate Professor  
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison

Email: melissa.schaub@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5794
Office: Dial 120
Office Hours: Mon 10:00-11:00; Tues 1:00-3:00; Wed 10:00-11:00; Fri 10:00-11:00.

Areas: Nineteenth-Century British Literature, Women's Literature

Robin L. Snead

Robin L. Snead

Lecturer, College Opportunity Program
Ph.D., North Carolina State University

Email: robin.snead@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6469
Office: D. F. Lowry 127
Office Hours: Mon 12:30-1:30; Tues 11:00-12:30; Wed 12:30-1:30; Thurs 11:00-12:30; and by appointment. 

Areas: Composition, Multimodality, Digital Literacies, and Pedagogy

Charles Tita

Charles Tita

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Howard University

Email: charles.tita@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5753  
Office: Dial 260A
Office Hours: Mon 8:00-9:00 (online); Tues 3:30-5:00; Wed 5:00-6:00 (online); Thurs 3:30-5:00; and by appointment. (Blackboard Collaborate Sessions available)

Areas: Eighteenth-Century British Literature, African American Literature, Critical Theory

Richard R. Vela

Richard R. Vela

Professor
Ph.D., University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Email: richard.vela@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6600
Office: Dial 121A
Office Hours: Mon 10:00-11:00; Wed 10:00-11:00; Fri 10:00-11:00, 1:00-3:00; and by appointment.

Areas: Shakespeare, Film, Contemporary and Latino Literature

Amy Williams

Amy Williams

Lecturer, College Opportunity Program
M.A., University of North Carolina Greensboro

Email: amy.williams@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6492
Office: D.F. Lowry 125
Office Hours: Mon 12:15-1:15; Tues 12:30-1:30, 3:30-4:30; Wed 12:15-1:15; Thurs 12:30-1:30; Fri 12:15-1:15; and by appointment.

Areas: Composition and Rhetoric, Critical Pedagogy