English, Theatre & Foreign Languages

Faculty and Staff

Wendy Miller

  Wendy Pearce Miller

   Associate Professor and Acting Chair 
   Ph.D., University of Mississippi
   Email: wendy.miller@uncp.edu 
   Phone: 910.521.6886 

Office: Dial 120
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 11:20-12:20, Tues/Thurs 11:00-2:00, and by appointment
Areas: American Literature, Southern Literature 

______

Robert Arndt

  Robert Arndt

   Part-Time Lecturer and Reference/Instructional
   Services Librarian
   M.F.A., M.L.S., University of South Carolina
   Email: robert.arndt@uncp.edu
  
Phone: 910.521.6529 
Office: Mary Livermore Library 105
Office Hours: By appointment
Areas: Composition

Lecturer

  Mike Berntsen

   Assistant Professor 
   Advisor to the Secular Student AllianceThis image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.Secular Safe Zone Logo
   Ph.D., University of Louisiana, Lafayette
   Email: michael.berntsen@uncp.edu
  
Phone: 910.775.4370 
Office: Dial 133
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 11:15-12:15, Mon/Wed 2:30-3:30
Areas: English & Spanish Renaissance, Theatre History, Composition, Creative Writing, and Pop Culture Studies

M.J. Braun

  M. J. Braun

   Assistant Professor
   Ph.D., University of Arizona
   Email: mary.braun@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6814
  
Office: Dial 114A
Office Hours: Mon 12:00-2:30, Tues/Thurs 12:00-2:00
Areas: History of Rhetoric, Rhetoric and Political Economy, Public and Disciplinary Discourse, Composition and Critical Pedagogy

Monika Brown

  Monika Brown

   Professor
   Ph.D., Duke University
   Email: monika.brown@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6257
  
Office: Dial 110
Office Hours: Mon 10:00-11:00, 2:30-3:30, Wed/Fri 12:15-1:15, Thurs 12:30-1:30
Areas: British Novel, World Literature, Victorian Studies, Literature in Music and Film, Composition & English Education 
Web Page

Mark Canada

  Mark Canada

   Professor and Dean of Arts and Sciences
   Ph.D., University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
   Email: mark.canada@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6431
  
Office: Hickory Hall
Office Hours: Mon/Tues/Wed/Thurs/Fri 9:00-10:00
Areas: American Literature and English Language
Web Page

Susan Cannata

  Susan Cannata

   Professor
   Ph.D., University of New Mexico
   Email: susan.cannata@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6806
  
Office: Dial 117
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 10:00-11:00, 3:30-4:30, Wed 1:00-2:00, and by appointment
Areas: Victorian Literature and The Novel

Youngsuk Chae

  Youngsuk Chae

   Associate Professor
   Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
   Email: youngsuk.chae@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.775.4290
  
Office: Dial 119 
Office Hours:
Areas: Postcolonial Literature, World Literature, Asian American Literature

Polina Chemishanova

  Polina Chemishanova

   Assistant Professor and Director of Composition 
   Ph.D., New Mexico State University
   Email: polina.chemishanova@uncp.edu 
   Phone: 910.775.4256
  
Office: Dial 239A
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 1:00-3:00, Wed 10:00-12:00, 2:00-3:00, and by appointment
Areas: Writing in the Disciplines, Professional Writing, WPA, Writing Program Assessment, Composition, Literacy Studies 

Teagan Decker  Teagan Decker

   Associate Professor and Director of the
   University Writing Center This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.
   Ph.D., University of Washington
   Email: teagan.decker@uncp.edu
  
Phone: 910.521.6437
Office: Lowry 313
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 11:00-12:00, 2:00-300, 4:30-5:00
Areas: Composition, Rhetoric, Language 

Michael Fairley

  Michael Fairley

   Part-time Lecturer
   M.A., North Carolina A & T University  
   Email: michael.fairley@uncp.edu
             michaelf@richmond.cc.nc.us
  
Phone: 910.521.6246
Office Hours: By appointment
Areas: English, African American Literature, Communications

Michele Fazio

  Michele Fazio

   Assistant Professor 
   Ph.D., SUNY-Stony Brook
   Email: michele.fazio@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.775.4371 
  
Office: Dial 113
Office Hours: Mon 5:30-6:30, Tues 1:45-3:45, Thurs 9:00-11:00
Areas: Twentieth-Century and Contemporary American Literature, Multi-Ethnic Literature, Working-Class Studies, Service-Learning Faculty Fellow

Denise Feikema

  Denise Feikema

   Assistant Professor
   Ph.D., University of Connecticut
   Email: denise.feikema@uncp.edu 
   Phone: 910.775.4362
  
Office: Dial 154
Office Hours: Mon 2:00-4:00, Tues 12:45-2:00, Thurs 4:45-6:30, and by appointment
Areas: English Education, Multiethnic Literature, Twentieth-Century American Literature, Women's Literature 

Anita Guynn

  Anita R. Guynn

   Associate Professor 
   Ph.D., University of South Carolina
   Email: anita.guynn@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6880
  
Office: Dial 260C
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 11:15-12:30, Wed 11:15-1:15, 4:00-4:40, and by appointment
Areas: Composition, Developmental Writing, Writing Across the Curriculum, Assessment, Service-Learning Faculty Fellow

Steven Hedgpeth

  Steven Hedgpeth

   Lecturer
   M.A., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
   Email: steven.hedgpeth@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6784
  
Office: Dial 151
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 10:00-11:00, 12:05-12:35, Mon/Wed 3:45-4:00
Areas: Composition and Literature

Thomas Heffernan

  Thomas Heffernan

   Lecturer
   Ph.D., Sophia University (Tokyo, Japan) 
   Email: thomas.heffernan@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.775.4239
  
Office: Dial 139
Office Hours: 
Areas: Modernism, Early 20th Century American/British Literature, Early 17th Century Studies, Composition, Creative Writing 

Jim Helgeson

  Jim Helgeson

   Lecturer 
   Ph.D., Indiana University
   Email: jim.helgeson@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6487 
  
Office: Dial 138C
Office Hours:
Areas: Literary Theory, History of the Novel

Karen Helgeson

  Karen Helgeson

   Professor and Faculty Advisor, Student
   Publication, The Aurochs
   Ph.D., University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
   Email: karen.helgeson@uncp.edu

Phone: 910.521.6436
Office: Dial 107
Office Hours:
Areas: Modernism, Creative Writing, and Contemporary Literature

Scott Hicks

  Scott Hicks

   Associate Professor
   Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
   Email: scott.hicks@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.775.4032
  
Office: Dial 115
Office Hours: Tues 1:00-2:15, Wed 9:30-10:45
Areas: African American Literature, Twentieth-Century American Literature, Environmental Literature
Web Page

Eun Hee Jeon

  Eun Hee Jeon

   Assistant Professor 
   Ph.D., Northern Arizona University
   Email: eunhee.jeon@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6842
  
Office: Dial 260B 
Office Hours: 
Areas: Applied Linguistics, TESOL, Second Language Reading, Sociolinguistics, and Pragmatics 

Deana Johnson

  Deana C. Johnson

   Lecturer and Director of College Opportunity
   Program
   M.A., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
   Email: deana.johnson@uncp.edu
  
Phone: 910.521.6470
Office: D. F. Lowry 126 
Office Hours:
Area: First Year Transitions  

Brigitte Knight

  Brigitte Knight

   Lecturer 
   M.A., University of North Carolina at Pembroke 
   Email: brigitte.knight@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6484
  
Office: Dial 138B 
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 1:30-3:30, Fri 1:30-2:30
Area: Composition 

Roger Ladd

  Roger A. Ladd

   Associate Professor and Director of the Graduate
   Program in English Education 
   Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison
   Email: roger.ladd@uncp.edu
  
Phone: 910.521.6624
Office: Dial 121 
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 11:00-12:00, Tues 4:30-5:30, Thurs/Fri 12:15-1:15
Areas: Medieval Studies, British Literature, and Composition

Autumn Lauzon

Lecturer
Ph.D., Middle Tennessee State University
Email: autumn.lauzon@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5789
Office: Dial 111
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 10:00-12:00, Tues/Thurs 12:30-2:00
Areas: American Literature, Beginnings to 1910, George Lippard, the American Revolution in Historical Romances and Antebellum America

Ron Layne

  Ron Layne

   Part-time Lecturer
   M.A., Winthrop University 
   Email: ronald.layne@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6246
  
Office Hours: By appointment
Areas: Speech 

Walter Lewallen

  Walter Lewallen

   Lecturer 
   Ph.D., University of South Florida
   Email: walter.lewallen@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.775.4154
  
Office: Dial 151
Office Hours:
Areas: Twentieth-Century British & American Literature, Literary Theory 

Abigail Mann

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University
Email: abigail.mann@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6312
Office: Dial 249
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 11:00-12:30, Tues/Thurs 11:30-12:30
Areas: Nineteenth-Century British Literature, Science and Literature, Women in Literature, Gender Studies

David Marquard

  David Marquard

   Assistant Professor
   Ph.D., University of Nevada, Reno
   Email: david.marquard@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6429 
  
Office: Wellons Hall, Suite G and Dial 138A
Office Hours: 
Areas: Critical Literacy and Sociolinguistics, Basic Writing, and Writing Program Assessment
Web Page

Dennis McGlothlin

  Dennis McGlothin

   Lecturer
   M.A., University of Dayton 
   Email: dennis.mcglothin@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6430
  
Office: Dial 239C
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 2:30-3:30, Tues 12:00-2:00
Areas: Composition Studies and American Drama 

Cynthia Miecznikowski

  Cynthia Miecznikowski

   Associate Professor 
   Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
   Email: cynthia.miecznikowski@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.522.5749
  
Office: Dial 239B
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 11:15-12:15, Mon/Wed 3:30-4:30, and by appointment
Areas: Rhetorical History, Theory, Pedagogy, and Practice; Writing and the Essay 

Lindsey Norcross

Lecturer
M.A., George Mason University
Email: lindsey.norcross@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6429
Office: Dial 138A
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 9:00-10:00, Tues/Thurs 11:00-12:00
Areas: Composition and Rhetoric, Cultural Studies

Sara Oswald

   Sara Oswald

   Senior Lecturer and Yearbook Advisor
   M.A., Rutgers University
   Email: sara.oswald@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6566
  
Office: Dial 112
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 3:00-4:00, Tues/Thurs 11:00-12:00
Areas: British Literature, Composition, Publication Editing and Design 

Cahterine Parisian

  Catherine Parisian

   Assistant Professor 
   Ph.D., University of Virginia 
   Email: catherine.parisian@uncp.edu 
   Phone: 910.775.4291
  
Office: Dial 116
Office Hours: Tues 10:45-12:00, 1:30-2:00, 3:00-3:30, 4:30-5:00, Thurs 10:45-12:30, and by appointment scheduled by e-mail
Areas: Eighteenth-Century British Literature, The Novel, Book History

Jesse Peters

  Jesse Peters

   Professor This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.
   Ph.D., University of New Mexico
   Email: jesse.peters@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6635
  
Office: Dial 260A
Office Hours: 
Areas: Native American Literature, Modernism, Language and Rhetoric, Creative Writing
Web Page

Jessica Pitchford

  Jessica Pitchford

   Assistant Professor and Editor of Pembroke
   Magazine
   Ph.D., Florida State University
   Email: jessica.pitchford@uncp.edu 
  
Phone: 910.521.6433
Office: Dial 102
Office Hours: Wed 5:00-6:00, Tues/Thurs 3:00-5:00, and by appointment
Areas: Creative Writing

Christie Poteet

  Christie Poteet

   Part-time Lecturer and Director of
   Service-LearningThis image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.
   M.A., University of North Carolina Greensboro 
   Email: christina.poteet@uncp.edu
  

Phone: 910.775.4296 
Office: Old Main 124
Office Hours: By appointment
Areas: Speech

Therese Rizzo

  Therese Rizzo

   Associate Professor This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.
   Ph.D., University of Delaware 
   Email: therese.rizzo@uncp.edu 
   Phone: 910.522.5802
  
Office: Dial 108 
Office Hours: Mon 4:00-6:00, Tue 2:30-3:30, Wed 3:30-5:30, Thurs 5:00-6:00, and by appointment
Areas: American Literature, African American Literature, Women’s Literature

Melissa Schaub  Melissa Schaub

   Associate Professor and Associate Vice
   Chancellor for Enrollment This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.
   Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison
   Email: melissa.schaub@uncp.edu
  
Phone: 910.522.5794
Office: Lumbee Hall 210
Office Hours: Wed 8:30 - 9:30, and by appointment
Areas: Nineteenth-Century British Literature, Women's Literature
Web Page

Robin Snead

  Robin L. Snead

   Lecturer, College Opportunity Program 
   Ph.D., North Carolina State University
   Email: robin.snead@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6469
  
Office: D. F. Lowry 127 
Office Hours:
Areas: Composition, Multimodality, Digital Literacies, and Pedagogy 

Charles Tita

  Charles Tita

   Associate Professor and Director of Distance
   Education 
   Ph.D., Howard University
   Email: charles.tita@uncp.edu
  
Phone: 910.521.6352
Office: Distance Education, West Office Building 
Office Hours: Mon 4:00-6:00, Tues/Thurs 10:30-12:00
Areas: Eighteenth-Century British Literature, African American Literature, Critical Theory 

Richard Vela

  Richard R. Vela

   Professor
   Ph.D., University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
   Email: richard.vela@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6600
  
Office: Dial 121A 
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 10:00-11:00, Mon/Wed 1:30-2:30, and by appointment
Areas: Shakespeare, Film, Contemporary and Latino Literature

Amy Williams

Lecturer, College Opportunity Program
M.A., University of North Carolina Greensboro
Email: amy.williams@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6492
Office: D.F. Lowry 125
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 8:50-9:50, Tues 3:00-4:00, Thurs 11:00-12:00, and by appointment
Areas: Composition and Rhetoric, Critical Pedagogy

Theatre Faculty

Jonathan Drahos

Associate Professor and Director of Theatre
M.F.A, University of Missouri
Email: jonathan.drahos@uncp.edu
Phone:
Office: Givens Performing Arts Center 311
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 1:15-2:00, Tues/Thurs 8:00-9:00
Areas: Shakespearean Performance, Directing, Acting, Theatre History

Holden Hansen

  Holden G. Hansen

   Professor
   M.F.A., University of Texas at Austin
   Email: holden.hansen@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6774
  
Office: Givens Performing Arts Center, 2nd Floor 
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Fri 12:00-3:00, Tues/Thurs 12:30-1:30, and by appointment (hours are variable by week, please e-mail to confirm)
Areas: Acting, Directing

Chet Jordan

  Chet Jordan

   Professor and Coordinator of Theatre
   Ph.D., Bowling Green State University
   Email: chet.jordan@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6289
  
Office: Givens Performing Arts Center 311
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 9:00-9:30, 1:00-2:00
Areas: Theatre and Speech

Holly Payne

  Holly Payne

   Lecturer and Costume Shop Manager
   M.F.A., University of Arkansas
   Email: holly.payne@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.775.6857
  
Office: Givens Performing Arts Center, 2nd Floor, Costume Shop
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 12:00-3:00, Tues 1:00-3:00, Thurs 12:30-2:00
Areas: Costuming

Natalie Smith

  Natalie Smith

   Lecturer, Choreographer,
   and Head Coach Spirit Squad
   M.F.A., Academy of Art University
   Email: natalie.smith@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6754 
Office: Jones 1196
Office Hours: Mon 1:00-2:00, Wed 12:30-2:30, Thurs 10:30-12:30
Areas: Costuming and Choreography  

Gary Tremblay

  Gary Tremblay

   Lecturer and Technical Director, Givens
   Performing Arts Center
   M.F.A., Carnegie Mellon University
   Email: gary.tremblay@uncp.edu
  
Phone: 910.521.6288  
Office Hours: By appointment
Office: Givens Performing Arts Center

David Underwood

  David Underwood

   Senior Lecturer and Designer/Production
   Manager, Givens Performing Art Center
   M.F.A., University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
   Email: david.underwood@uncp.edu
  
Phone: 910.521.6408
Office: Givens Performing Arts Center 310
Office Hours: Mon/Fri 11:15-1:10, Tues/Thurs 2:00-3:15
Area: Theater Technology

Foreign Languages Faculty

Raquel Alfaro

  Raquel Alfaro

   Assistant Professor
   Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
   Email: raquel.alfaro@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.775.4033
  
Office: Dial 246
Office Hours: 
Areas: Spanish

Katherine Denton

  Katherine Denton

   Lecturer; LASO Advisor; Web Information
   Coordinator
   M.A., University of North Carolina Wilmington 
   Email: katherine.denton@uncp.edu
  
Phone: 910.521.6432  
Office: Dial 245
Office Hours: Mon 12:00-3:00, Tues/Thurs 10:45-12:15, Thurs 2:00-3:15, and by appointment
Areas: Spanish Language, Conversation, Composition, Phonetics and Pronunciation

Ana Cecilia Lara

  Ana Cecilia Lara

   Instructor, Coordinator of Foreign Languages
   and Spanish Teacher Licensure
   D.M.L., Middlebury College 
   Email: cecilia.lara@uncp.edu
  
Phone: 910.521.6359
Office: Dial 243
Office Hours: 
Areas: Spanish

YuanYuan Lin

  Yuanyuan Lin

   Part-time Lecturer 
   M.A., Rutgers University
   Email: yuanyuan.lin@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6435
  
Office: 244 Dial
Office Hours: Tues 12:30-2:30
Areas: Chinese

Lucian Nerwinski

  Lucian Nerwinski

   Part-time Lecturer
   Ph.D., Duke University
   Email: lucian.nerwinski@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6435
  
Office: Dial 244
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 8:00-9:00
Areas: Latin 

Enrique Porrua

  Enrique Porrúa

   Associate Professor
   Ph.D., Texas Tech University 
   Email: enrique.porrua@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6428
  
Office: Dial 247
Office Hours:
Areas: Spanish

  Marion Thompson

   Part-time Lecturer
   M.A., University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
   Email: marion.thompson@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6435
  
Office: Dial 244
Office Hours: By appointment
Areas: French

Emily Tobey

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University
Email: emily.tobey@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4416
Office: Dial 248
Office Hours: Wed/Fri 1:00-2:00, Tues 10:00-1:00, and by appointment
Areas: Early Modern Spanish Literature, Costume and Disguise in Theatre, Women Writers, Gender Studies

Staff

Tina Emanuel

  Tina P. Emanuel

   Technology Support Technician, Director of ET
   Resource Center
   Email: tina.emanuel@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6358
  
Office: Dial 141

Nicole Ford   Nicole Ford

   Administrative Support Associate   
   Email: nicole.ford@uncp.edu
   Phone: 910.521.6246
   Office: Dial 131

 

This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education. This image denotes persons having gone through Safe Zone Education.
Secular Safe Zone Logo This image denotes persons having gone through Secular Safe Zone Education.