Elementary Education

M.A. Ed Elementary Education

At the graduate level, the department offers a fully online program for the M.A. Ed degree in Elementary Education. The mission of the master’s program in elementary education is to prepare the experienced teacher for full participation in their chosen profession as leader, researcher, and master practitioner. Through collaboration, inquiry, reflection and practice teachers engage in professional development to:

  • improve student learning and academic achievement of their students,
  • strengthen the teaching and learning environments of their schools
  • enhance collaborative relationships with diverse families and communities 

Ranked by U.S. News & World Report as one of the top 100 Best Online Education Programs

US News

The UNCP Teacher Education Program is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Graduate Elementary Education program is approved by the NC State Board of Education. The program is offered for practicing teachers that hold, or are eligible to hold, a Standard Professional I teaching license in elementary education and individuals who complete the Graduate Elementary Education program are eligible for a master's level teaching license through the NC State Board of Education. Two years of full-time teaching experience is recommended, but not required.

For more information about the Master of Arts in Education in Elementary Education, contact Dr. Lisa Mitchell, program director or make an appointment to see Dr. MItchell.

Graduate Faculty

 Dr. Lisa MitchellDr. Lisa Mitchell

 Department Chair and Associate Professor, Elementary Education
 Director, Graduate Elementary Education 
 Email: lisa.mitchell@uncp.edu
 Phone: 910.775.4412
 Location: Education Center, Room 101B

 

Dr. Kelly Ficklin Dr. Kelly Ficklin

 Clinical Assistant Professor, Undergraduate Elementary Education Coordinator
 Email: kelly.ficklin@uncp.edu
 Phone: 910.775.4037
 Location: Education Center, Room 215B

 

Dr. Karen GrangerDr. Karen Granger

Assistant Professor, AIG Coordinator
Email: karen.granger@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6448
Location: Education Center, Room 113

 

 Dr. Claudia NickolsonDr. Claudia Nickolson

 Associate Professor
 Email:claudia.nickolson@uncp.edu
 Phone:910.775.4413
 Location: Education Center, Room 215A

 

 Dr. Kayonna Pitchford

 Assistant Professor
 Email:kayonna.pitchford@uncp.edu
 Phone:910.521.6779
 Location: Education Center, Room 115

 

  Dr. Doreen T. Saccomano

 Lecturer
 Email: doreen.saccomano@uncp.edu
 Phone: 910.521.6453
 Location: Education Center, Room 101-E

 

Dr. Joe Sciulli

 Dr. Joe Sciulli

 Associate Professor
 Email: joe.sciulli@uncp.edu
 Phone: 910.521.6362
 Location: Education Center, Room 208

 

Dr. Jennifer Whittington

 Assistant Professor
 Email: jennifer.whittington@uncp.edu
 Phone: 910.521.6451
 Location: Education Center, Room 319