Elementary Education

M.A. Ed Elementary Education

At the graduate level, the department offers a fully online program for the M.A. Ed degree in Elementary Education. The mission of the master’s program in elementary education is to prepare the experienced teacher for full participation in their chosen profession as leader, researcher, and master practitioner. Through collaboration, inquiry, reflection and practice teachers engage in professional development to:

  • improve student learning and academic achievement of their students,
  • strengthen the teaching and learning environments of their schools
  • enhance collaborative relationships with diverse families and communities 

Ranked by U.S. News & World Report as one of the top 100 Best Online Education Programs

US News

The UNCP Teacher Education Program is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Graduate Elementary Education program is approved by the NC State Board of Education. The program is offered for practicing teachers that hold, or are eligible to hold, a Standard Professional I teaching license in elementary education and individuals who complete the Graduate Elementary Education program are eligible for a master's level teaching license through the NC State Board of Education. Two years of full-time teaching experience is recommended, but not required.

For more information about the Master of Arts in Education in Elementary Education, contact Dr. Lisa Mitchell, program director or make an appointment to see Dr. MItchell.

Graduate Faculty

Dr. Lisa MitchellDr. Lisa Mitchell

Department Chair and Associate Professor, Elementary Education
Director, Graduate Elementary Education 
Director of Instructional Technology, Teacher Education Programs

Email: lisa.mitchell@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4412
Location: Education Center, Room 319
Calendar: Make an appointment


 Dr. Irene AikenDr. Irene Aiken

Email: irene.aiken@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6271
Location: Lindsay Administration


Dr. Emily Long

Dr. Emily Long

Email: emily.long@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6451
Location: Education Center, Room 320


Dr. Claudia Nickolson

Dr. Claudia Nickolson

Associate Professor
Location: Education Center, Room 215A


Dr. Joe Sciulli

Dr. Joe Sciulli

Assistant Professor
Email: joe.sciulli@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6362
Location: Education Center, Room 101E


Dr. Karen StanleyDr. Karen Stanley

Interim Dean, School of Education 
Email: karen.stanley@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6528
Location: Education Center, Room 113


Adjunt Faculty

Dr. Ashley HopeDr. Ashley Hope

Adjunct Professor
Email: ashley.hope@uncp.edu



Dr. Kathryn Sullivan

Adjunct Professor
Email: kathryn.sullivan@uncp.edu