TriBeta Banquet Showcases Research (2017)

Inductee Photos

TriBeta inductees and officers (2017)TriBeta students and new inductees (2017)

The Psi Lambda chapter of Beta Beta Beta (TriBeta) added a new twist to its annual induction ceremony.  Four TriBeta students (Camille Colvin, Ereny Gerges, David Pedersen, and Caleb Smith) exhibited posters of their research and service learning projects during the ceremony.  In an oral presentation, Katherine Rentschler described her research in Dr. Ben Bahr's Alzheimer's Disease Laboratory.  Nearly two dozen students were inducted during the evening ceremony, which took place in the University Center Annex on 27 April 2017.

 Dr. Jeff FrederickKatherine Rentschler
Above (from left to right): Dr. Jeff Frederick and Katherine Rentschler

TriBeta President Jacklynn Hunt gave opening remarks, and Dr. Jeff Frederick (Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences) welcomed the attendees.  In addition to TriBeta students and candidates, guests included family, friends, faculty, and staff.

Camille Colvin Caleb Smith
Ereny Gerges David Pedersen
TriBeta poster presenters (top row from left to right): Camille Colvin and Caleb Smith, (bottom row from left to right): Ereny Gerges and David Pedersen

Several of the guests mingled with the student poster presenters to ask them about their work.  TriBeta students not only work hard in the classroom to achieve high GPAs, but many of them are actively engaged in scientific research through off-campus internships, independent study, and through UNC Pembroke programs -- RISE, COMPASS, and PURC.  

David Pedersen, Natasha Wells, and Jacklynn HuntTriBeta officers (from left to right): David Pedersen (Vice-president), Natasha Wells (Treasurer), and Jacklynn Hunt (President)

Following the student research presentations, TriBeta officers Jacklynn Hunt and Natasha Wells read biographical sketches of the TriBeta candidates.  Officer David Pedersen recounted a history of the Psi Lambda chapter and described the meaning of the TriBeta symbols, and Jacklynn Hunt gave the charge to the candidates.  Jacklynn Hunt, Natasha Wells, and David Pedersen presented certificates to the new inductees.  Honor cords, bearing the TriBeta colors of red and green, were bestowed upon inductees who will be graduating in May.

 Dr. Dennis McCracken Jianna Pereira and Dr. Velinda Woriax
From left to right: Dr. Dennis McCracken, Jianna Pereira, and Dr. Velinda Woriax (Biology Department Chair)

During his concluding remarks, Dr. Dennis McCracken (faculty advisor of TriBeta) remembered Prof. John McDonald, former and long-time Biology faculty member at UNC Pembroke who had just passed.  TriBeta is a national honor society for students, particularly undergraduates, dedicated to improving the understanding and appreciation of biological study and extending boundaries of human knowledge through scientific research.      

TriBeta officers
TriBeta officers (from left to right): Christian Ryckeley (Historian), Natasha Wells (Treasurer), Jacklynn Hunt (President), Amber Watkins (Secretary), and David Pedersen (Vice-president)

TriBeta inductees (2017)
Newly inducted TriBeta members

COMPASS students and Dr. Maria Santisteban
COMPASS group (from left to right): Ereny Gerges, Dr. Maria Santisteban (Director of Compass), Adrianna Oxendine, Kelsey Leigh,
Katherine Rentschler, Kaila Chavis, Quaison Gilchrist, Naveen Issa, and David Pedersen

TriBeta cake

Photos of individual inductees receiving their certificates can be viewed by clicking here.

Return to the Top