• campus Alert ✖CLOSE

    Piedmont Natural Gas has restored service to campus this evening. As a result of the work performed today there will be detours on Faculty Row for both vehicles and pedestrians. Please use extreme caution and do not attempt to go around the barricades.

    Facilities and Piedmont Natural Gas personnel will continue working with the natural gas infrastructure on campus throughout the week. Service disruption is not anticipated, but could be possible. This work is being performed to make every effort to maintain a safe and healthy campus environment. 

    Dining services will resume standard operations for Sunday, January 22. We appreciate your patience today and apologize for any inconvenience.


Student Awards

Each year the Department of Biology bestows awards to several of its most outstanding students.  Descriptions of the awards and photographs of recent recipients are given below.

2016 Awardees (Photographs are courtesy of Leon Jernigan)

Biology Student Awardees 2016Pictured above (from left to right): Robbie Juel, Anthony Arrington, Ashley Allen, Cameron Troutman, and Ethan Sanford

Ethan SanfordAshley Allen 

 Robbie JuelAnthony Arrington

 Sarah BelperainCameron Troutman
Paired photographs 1) top: Dr. Velinda Woriax presenting awards to Ethan Sanford (left photo) and to Ashley Allen
2) middle: Robbie Juel and Dr. Velinda Woriax (left photo), and Anthony Arrington and Dr. Meredith Storms
3) bottom: Sarah Belperain and Dr. Mary Ash (left photo), and Cameron Troutman and Dr. Rita Hagevik

Sheldon Brown
Sheldon Brown (above)

Group Photo
Pictured above (from left to right): Dr. Lisa Kelly, Dr. Conner Sandefur, Robbie Juel, Anthony Arrington,
Ashley Allen, Cameron Troutman, Ethan Sanford, and
Dr. Velinda Woriax (Department Chair)

Conner Sandefur and Ethan Sanford

  • Biology Faculty Award: Ethan Sanford
  • Biology Club Award: Ashley Allen
  • Robert Britt Award: Robbie Juel
  • Environmental Science Award: Sheldon Brown
  • James Porter Math and Environmental Science Scholarship:  Anthony Arrington
  • Science Education Outstanding Undergraduate Award: Sarah Belperain
  • Science Education Outstanding Graduate Award: Cameron Troutman

Archives of Student Awards (2009-2015)

Award Descriptions:

1. Robert Britt Award is given to a biology/environmental science student with an exceptional interest in the plant sciences. The cash award varies but can be as much as $500.

2. James Ebert Award is given to a biology/environmental science student with an exceptional interest in ecology.  The cash award is $250.

3. Biology Faculty Award is given to a junior who has an outstanding GPA and who is majoring in biology or environmental science. The cash award is $200.

4. Biology Club Award is given to an outstanding member of the Club. The cash award is $100.

5. Science Education Award is given to a student who demonstrates outstanding leadership or achievement in science education. The award is contingent upon GPA.

6. Ecology/Environmental Science Award is given to a biology/environmental science student who demonstrates exceptional interest in ecology. Anonymous donor.

Return to the Top