Esther G. Maynor Honors College

Honors Faculty

Honors Faculty:

Ashley Allen

Assistant Professor
Department of Psychology

Ph. D., Duke University

Email: ashley.allen@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.4356

Andy Ash

Andy Ash

Professor
Department of Biology

Ph.D., University of Toronto
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2000

Email: andy.ash@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6418

Charles Beem

Charles Beem

Associate Professor
Department of History

Ph.D., University of Arizona

Email: charles.beem@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6229

Scott Billingsley

Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Associate Professor

Department of History

Ph.D., Auburn University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2007

Email: scott.billingsley@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6807

Steve Bourquin

Steve Bourquin

Professor and Chair 

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

Ph.D., Ohio University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2006, 2011
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2016

Email: steven.bourquin@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6517

Dr. Monika Brown

Monika Brown

Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

Ph.D., Duke University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 1997, 2005 

Email: monika.brown@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6257

Robert Brown

Robert Brown

Professor
Department of History

Ph.D., Duke University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 1997, 2003 
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2006

Email: robert.brown@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6438

 

Kirill Bumin

Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science and Public Administration

Ph.D., University of Kentucky

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2016

Email: kirill.bumin@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6603

 Susan Cannata

Susan Cannata

Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

Ph.D., University of New Mexico
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2004 
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2009

Email: cannata@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6806

Dr. Kelly Charlton

Kelly Charlton

Associate Professor and Department Chair
Department of Psychology

Ph.D., University of Missouri-Columbia
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award

Email: kelly.charlton@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6459

 Dr. Decker

Teagan Decker

Assistant Dean, Esther G. Maynor Honors College
Associate Professor of English

Ph.D., University of Washington

Email: teagan.decker@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6437

Jonathan Drahos

Associate Professor of Theatre

Ph.D., University of Birmingham

Email: Jonathan.Drahos@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4584

 Dr. Farley

Martin Farley

Associate Professor and Chair
Department of Geology and Geography

Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University

Email: martin.farley@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6478

 

Michele Fazio

Associate Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

Ph.D., SUNY-Stony Brook

Email: michele.fazio@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4371

 Paul Flowers

Paul A. Flowers

Professor
Department of Chemistry and Physics

Ph.D., University of Tennessee
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2002

Email: paul.flowers@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6424

 Jeff Frederick

Jeff Frederick

Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
Professor
Department of History

Ph.D., Auburn University

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2004

Email: jeff.frederick@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6439

 

Kevin Freeman

Associate Professor and Chair
Department of Political Science and Public Administration

Ph.D., University of Alabama
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2010, 2014

Email: Kevin.Freeman@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6447

 Dr. Lydia Gan

Lydia Gan

Professor and Chair
Department of Economics and Decision Sciences

Ph.D., University of Texas

Email: lydia.gan@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4265

 Jeffery Geller

Jeffery Geller

Professor 
Department of Philosophy and Religion

Ph.D., Duke University
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2003

Email: jeffery.geller@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6460

 Dr. Guynn

Anita Guynn

Associate Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

Ph.D., University of South Carolina

Email: anita.guynn@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6880

 Dr. Haladay

Jane Haladay

Associate Professor
Department of American Indian Studies

Ph.D., University of California, Davis
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2011

Email: haladayj@uncp.edu 
Phone: 910.521.6485

 Scott Hicks

Scott Hicks

Associate Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages

Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2010

Email: scott.hicks@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4032

 Len Holmes

Len Holmes

Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry and Physics

Ph.D., Utah State University

Email: lholmes@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6650

Dr. Brooke Kelly

 

E. Brooke Kelly

Associate Professor
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice

Ph.D., Michigan State University

Email:  brooke.kelly@uncp.edu 
Phone: 910.775.4038

 Lisa Kelly

Lisa Kelly

Associate Professor
Department of Biology

Ph.D., North Carolina State University

Email: lisa.kelly@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6377

 Dr. Labadie

John Labadie

Professor
Department of Art 

Ed.D., University of  Cincinnati

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2003
Dial Award for Research and Creativity: 2009 

Email: john.labadie@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6618

Dr. Mandjiny

 

Siva Mandjiny

Professor and Chair 
Department of Chemistry and Physics

Ph.D., Universitie de Technologie de Compiegne
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2006
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2015

Email: siva.mandjiny@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6608

 Cliff Mensah

Cliff Mensah

Associate Professor
Department of Economics and Decisions Sciences

Ph.D., North Carolina State University

Email: edwin.mensah@uncp.edu
Phone: 910-522.5713 

 Mark Milewicz

Mark Milewicz

Dean of Maynor Honors College and Professor
Department of Political Science and Public Administration

Ph.D., The University of Alabama 

Email: mark.milewicz@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6630

 

Ottis Murray

Professor
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice

Ph.D.,North Carolina State University

Email: ottis.murray@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6821

 Dr. Normandy

Liz Normandy

Associate Vice Chancellor of Planning and Accreditation and Professor
Academic Affairs

Ph.D., University of South Carolina
UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 1996 

Email: elizabeth.normandy@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6611

 Mario Paparozzi

Mario Paparozzi

Professor and Chair
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice

Ph.D., Rutgers University

Email: mario.paparozzi@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.5783

Dr. John Parnell

John Parnell

Professor and Belk Chair 
Department of Managerment, School of Business

Ed. D., Campbell University,  Ph.D.,  University of Memphis

Adolph Dial Award for Scholarly & Creative Activity at UNC-Pembroke (2005)

Email: john.parnell@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6465

 Jesse Peters

Jesse Peters

Professor
Department of English, Theatre, and Foreign Languages and Department of American Indian Studies 

Ph.D., University of New Mexico 

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2003

Email: peters@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6635

 

Shilpa Pai Regan

Associate Professor
Department of Psychology

Ph.D., Oklahoma State University

Email: shilpa.pai@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4036

Timothy Ritter

Professor
Department of Chemistry and Physics

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2004 & 2009
Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching: 2013

Email: tim.ritter@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6320

James Robinson

Associate Professor
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice

Ph.D., Oklahoma State University

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2008

Email: james.robinson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5785

 Dr Marilu Santos

Marilu Santos

Professor
Department of Biology

Ph.D., University of the Philippines

UNCP Outstanding Teaching Award: 2002 & 2012

Email: marilu.santos@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6420

 

Xinyan Shi

Associate Professor
Department of Economics and Decision Science, School of Business

Ph.D  in Economics University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Email: yan.shi@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4351